Back in Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
July 2nd 2009
Published: July 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ahhhhhhhh.......



That's the sigh of relief that I exhaled as I landed back in Hong Kong's beautiful, clean, organized, modern airport.

That's the sound I made when I boarded the swift, efficient Airport Express train into Central.

That's the noise that escaped my throat when I stepped into the International Finance Center Building to meet my friend Travis.

That's also the breath that slowly hissed out as I went shopping at the IFC mall and slipped into a new pair of flip-flops.

This is the sweet sigh of relaxation that I am making as I type in a room with air conditioning and far from the beeping horns and construction site noises that are so prevalent in Hanoi.

It is so nice to be back in a modern city.

Already I feel rejuvenated (but just wait till the Immodium wears off!). I feel ready for adventure again. In maybe a few more days.

My trip from Hanoi to Hong Kong was timely and uneventful, leaving the humid heat of Hanoi at about 11:00 a.m. and arriving in the humid heat of Hong Kong at 1:30 p.m. (there's a one-hour time difference).

I have a busy social schedule for the weekend. Tomorrow night it is a late dinner at the Spring Deer Pekingese restaurant. Saturday, for the 4th of July, it is the junk boat trip with a group of hard-partying expats. If I'm still alive and still with liver on Sunday, I would love to check out the Hong Kong tourism board's Kung Fu Corner. It consists of demonstrations in a Kowloon park - so sorry, you will not be seeing me attempt to emulate Bruce Lee or Jackie Chan, hilarious though I'm sure that'd be.

Stay tuned, I am still in the game....




I've just been sitting out on the balcony at Travis' apartment, and this occurred to me:

An eastern breeze wafts clouds across the moon -
Junk boat lights drift slowly through the harbor -
Silky black mountain silhouettes
Jut up above the ever-breaking water.



**If you enjoyed this post, then make sure you subscribe by clicking on the "subscribe" button at the top left of the page! Tell others!
**New readers: Get the quick and dirty at . You can start at the beginning or pick anywhere you like to start living vicariously (or laughing vicariously, as it will most likely turn out)



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Night SkylineNight Skyline
Night Skyline

Taken during the laser light show from Kowloon side


2nd July 2009

This sounds much better to me! But I'm not sure I can handle being on a plane for more than 3 hours... I know I am wimpy - you can do this!
2nd July 2009

Of Course, l forgot....
.... Retail Therapy! Just what a girl needs, albeit for flip flops!..... You do sound a lot better Rebecca which is great to hear... Lets hope your bug/virus clears up for good too...
2nd July 2009

Isn't Skype Wonderful?
Just wanted to say how great it was to actually see you again on Skype and be able to count all the fingers and toes. It was also very encouraging to hear that you are thinking about continuing your adventure. While adventures are exciting and memorable, thay are also exhausting. Good idea to recharge your batteries. It will be fun to hear about your Peking Duck dinner on Friday night. Hopefully they will not serve it with the feet and head like in the Christmas movie "Christmas Story" with Ralphie and his family. Ha Ha. Enjoy July 4th with Travis and his buddies. However with the quantity of alcohol that he has ordered, you may need to take some notes so you can report on your blog. Have Fun, Relax, and Celebrate. Love Mom

Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb