Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
January 6th 2009
Published: March 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Gad about townGad about townGad about town

A shot of me from Kowloon looking across the harbour to Hong Kong with its amazing skyscapers.
After 5 weeks in China, I had the opportunity to fly to Hong Hong and visit an old friend for a few days.
So I flew to Shenzhen in southern China and from there, I walked with ourschool principal who was going to Hong Kong as well. We had to take a bus , then walk across the border into Hong Kong. I would have had an interesting time trying to do it myself as we had to meander around through buildings and up and down stairs until we came to the crossing. Then we hopped on a fast train which took we into Hong Kong proper and Kowloon. After I met my friend, Alan, we headed to his apartment which is beautifully located in the Happy Valley race track area. Small apartment , but fantastic view of the racetrack and the walking areas as well as the surrounding hills.

I only had a few days to enjoy the vertical magnitude of Hong Kong, so I got right into the streets and walked , walked and walked. I explored the harbour area and all sorts of of interesting, crowded lane ways and alleys and narrow streets with carts, stalls, music,
Buses, buses, buses!Buses, buses, buses!Buses, buses, buses!

In the confined space of Hong Kong, buses are everywhere. It only cost 1 HK dollar ( 20 cents) to ride the buses. The trolleys were 2 HK. This photo is taken from the upper level of the trolley. A great way to see some of Hong Kong.
yelling, signs of every kind, aromas sharp and pleasant, smiling faces, and people either racing along or sitting, relaxing, chatting amongst the chaos. Colours everywhere. no privacy.

Each day, I hopped on the double decker trolleys and sat right up front in the top- t get a great view of the streets nd the multitude of vehicles - unbelievable variety and number of buses, all signs, cruising and criss-crossing the streets. Absolutely fascinating to watch. On my last day, I took the trolley and headed for the harbour so that I could take the ferry around to Kowloon. Beautiful clear day, great ride across the harbour. I meandered around Kowloon, explored the beautiful old Peninsula Hotel, and all the lanes where they sell flowers, fruit and vegetables, and all sorts of electronics.

I started working on this months ago. So I should send it off. I had such a superb tiem in Hong Kong - I want to get back again. Just fascinating to watch buses and people, walk along the harbour, and sip a beer ort a coffe.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

 Hong Kong from the harbour Hong Kong from the harbour
Hong Kong from the harbour

Myriad buildings, either under construction or completed. When I did a 360 degree view of Kowloon and Hong Kong from the harbour, I viewed hundreds of buildings crowding the sky.
View from 43rd floor of Bank of ChinaView from 43rd floor of Bank of China
View from 43rd floor of Bank of China

As I strolled around the streets past vendors, shops, street cleaners,folks queuing up for buses or dashing along the narrow side walks, I had a few chances to enter buildings and get some panoramic views of the city.
International schoolInternational school
International school

I visited my friend, Alan, who is principal at the Canadian International School in Hong Kong. Amazing structure built into the side of one of the many hills around Hong Kong. This is the huge entrance, foyer of the school which is multilevel.


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb