My Sticky Situation


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
June 15th 2008
Published: June 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey there, apologies for the delay since the last blog but I have been without internet access, the hostels computers are lacking somewhat! Anyways, I am back so lets blog on!

Firstly, the title of this blog, dont be scared, I havent found myself in some horrifying situation, its merely a point about how humid it is here. You look outside and it appears to be cloudy and miserable, but you step outside and it hits you straight away, rather unpleasant, but will leave it at that!

Ok so Saturday was definitely not my favourite day of my trip since laving home. Having got very little sleep on my 5:50am flight to Sydney (having been up all night), i then had a 4hour wait before a 9hour flight to Hong Kong, which was delayed nearly an hour which was annoying. A rather uneventful flight, and only managed to finish one film, as one was rubbish and another one i fell asleep during the end, shocking i know!

Arrived in Hong Kong at around half 6, and was through customs with a bag in 25mins, very effecient I must say. The next task was to get some money out, not so simple. The first couple of machines didnt accept cirrus. Started to worry. Thanfully I found one that did, so panic over. Hopped on the A11 bus to Yee Wo Street, and the adventure had begun. I must admit at this stage, I was glad to have done my research with regards to how to get to my hostel!

After a bit of confusion, mainly in the language barrier, I got into my room. Now this place is nothing special, it is still a hostel, but 20quid for a single room with ensuite, whatever the size of the room, and a TV with 2english channels, cannot be all that bad. Plus a handy location for the amazing public transport system here. Buses, Subways, Trams, Boats, Taxi etc. Despite being knackered, I went for a walk around the local area, and couldnt believe how busy it was for the evening, like manic busy. Plus soo many lights, and signs, and shops etc. It really was mad, didnt stay out long!

Not my best sleep for a while, mainly due to the heat. Bad move turning off the A/C, so put it back on in the night and found my ear plugs. Got up and was out at half 8, since I wanted to see some things before going to church. Headed out and walked up to the Happy Valley racecourse. Obviously it was shut, but since I am going to miss it being open by like an hour on weds, I decided to at least go to the place. Weird how this big race course is bang between a mountain and big old hong kong city. From there I did some stupid, steep, windy walk, up to Lovers Rock. A shrine, which I think is for people having trouble conieving. Not really sure. At this point, I was fed up, hot and sweaty, so was pleased to get into the cold of Pacific place. It was here in the Conrad Hotel, that I was to meet Belles' friend Caitlin for church. Ended up bumping into her in the lift. The service was cool, and amazing view from the 7th floor!

After church, the real day began. Made use of the numerous covered/cooled walkways to get to the central Pier. Couldnt get over the number of women sat around in groups having little picnics. Turns out these are al the maids on their day off! Got the Star Ferry, and experience in itself, over to Kowloon. Since the blog is getting on, I will leave out some details!

Made a first trip to the Space Museum. Rediculously cheap, and quite good considering. From here I crossed under the road via the SOGO shopping centre to have a quick look at the peninsula hotel. Very spectacular place, though didnt get to see much as I wasnt really dressed for the occasion! Walked up Nathan Road to one of the parks, and enjoyed the scuplture walk and chinese garden. Here I found a huge outdoor swimming complez, which was very busy, and wished I had my boardies with me! My last walking stop was a temple. Sorry I cannot remeber the names of these places, dont have book with me! Was quite cool, though nothing on those in Bangkok.

However, Hong Kong wins for street markets. I took the subway to the flower and bird markets, which were both incredible. I dont know how soo many people selling similar things can survive, but the whole road is lined with plant shops, and the bird market is much the same...except with birds. Some of the birds on sale were amazing, and lots of them. The carved bird cages were also very impressive.

I then slowly meandered my way back to the harbour, passing through the ladies market, the Jade market, and the temple street night marker. All were manicly busy, with hardly any room to move. Realising that people walk a lot slower here and dont mind stopping right in front of you! An amazingly huge selection of things on sale on the various stalls, and obviously you cannot stop to look without being attacked by the owners!

Back at the harbour, I went to SOGO to get some tea. Sat down and had eel and rice, which was very nice. I know eel seems weird, but you have to try new things really dont you, and i am glad that I did, like i said, Eel=mmm. Also bought myself an ice cream which i ate whilst sat along the promenade and the avenue of stars, their equivalent to the hollywood boulevard stars. I stayed in this spot until the symphony of lights. This is an amazing light show, using lights over 33 bulidings around the harbous, along to music. Now i have to say, it lacked the sychronisation and coreography of the Bellagio fountains, but it was still quite impressive. The arbour skyline at night is amazing.

Feet tired, and fed up with their owner, I headed back to the hostel where I enjoyed a couple of enlish films before getting some sleep!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb