finally doing some touristy things


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
September 29th 2005
Published: September 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Still having a fantastic time here - I thought that the novelty of the city would wear off but it hasn't as of yet!

During the day I went to the Peak and to Stanley Market. Hockey training in the evening was fun. As it was so long since i had picked up a stick that I thought I was going to be crap but it wasn't that bad! That said my legs have been aching since then.

On Wednesday I decided that I had better get out of the city and went out to Lantau island by ferry and got the bus to see the big Budha - amazing. I can't believe how within an hour of HK centre you can be in the most remote areas. Included in the entry fee to see the big Budha is a vegetarian meal in the monastery and it was well worth it - the monastery was a bit touristy but because there were so many little buildings I found myself alone quite a few times.

From there I walked part of the Lantau island trail to a village called Tai O - the walk took around 4 hours because of the heat. Conor told me that it was worth going to see the houses on stilts - I was expecting something touristy but it was basically a small shanty town - so close to Hong Kong it was amazing.

It was a quick trip home to get changed before a night at the race and on the town in Wan Chai. The races are fun here because you feel like you have big bets on even when you're only betting a pound or two - Conor and I were clueless but we put a bet on a horse in each of the 5 races and came out with HK$100 profit (which just about payed for the entry) There were around 20 of us there so it was a good social event!

Since I arrived they have all been telling me that I must dance on the bar in Carnegies so after the races we headed for Wan Chai and Conor and I both danced on the bar - Rita has a rather fuzzy photo to prove it!

Today has been rather slow in comparison - I did a bit more shopping, went to the Hong Kong park, botanical and zoological gardens. I think we are just having a quite night in tonight with a pizza and video.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb