Would madam like a cherry on top?


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
July 26th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Posh Hotel 1Posh Hotel 1Posh Hotel 1

Maybe I should have spent the 5 weeks here??
Well, I must say, today* I feel like a princess.

(*today is actually yesterday but I am writing one day later but dating the blog one day back in time as if it was still yesterday, you see?? What do you mean "it's totally unclear what you mean"?).
Anyway..

Today I had a day like a princess. I arrived last night in my super posh hotel after a super posh flight from London to HK. If only the plane could have gone one extra circle around the globe before landing.. I would have been able to sip a few more cocktails (with REAL orange zest people), and watch a few more movies. But anyway, after I landed, I had a really busy social calendar, you see even on the other side of the world I have people to see, you understand.
So first a sundowner cocktail (yes Mumu a cocktail again, but I assure you, it's not like all I do is sip cocktails on this trip, it just sounds that way) with my friend Jorn, who was in town all the way from Brussels. It was very surreal to see a person-from-Belgian-but-who-I knew-from-London in HK, but it was
Hotel 2Hotel 2Hotel 2

Worth waking up at 6 am for..
nice and I guess I should get used to this, as more friends will be visiting me once I live in HK.
Then I went for the best mango-chicken dinner at my friend Elena's and Liam's. Here again London-people-in-HK syndrome, which is actually really pleasant. So my first evening on holiday was in lovely company, with nice conversation and yummy food!
Then this morning, I woke up at 5 am too excited to sleep, and was the first person at 6 am in the hotel's roof top swimming pool. I thought I had died and gone to heaven several times. (I mean, can you imagin, if you put uyour head under water, there is MUSIC playing there, you could serisously float there for hours).
The thing with waking up at 5 am, is that by 10.30 I felt like I was awake since EVER, so went back to the hotel for a catnap. But my body thought it was time to sleep properly, so when my alarm rang about an hour later I felt like a zombie, but still got up, and had to grab all my things and check out asap as I had my flight to catch. The
The perfect cocktailThe perfect cocktailThe perfect cocktail

1 nice view + 1 good friend + 1 cocktail = heaven
thing is, these days as many know I have a very short haircut, and the thing with short hair is that it sticks up in the air very easily. (especially when your body thinks it's time for a proper night's sleep). But I had no time to do anything about it, so basically I checked out of my posh hotel looking like a zombie, hair sticking up vertically, and a HUGE backpack which the hotel staff thought was very amusing as usually they see more Louis Vuitton than the North Face luggage.

Aaaaaanyway, I successfully took my two flights (HK to Bangkok and then on to Vientiane in Laos) and I must say, even before I entered the country, I met some very nice Laosians (?) in the plane, making me say it's very true what they say about people being incredibly nice here..




Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb