99 days, the countdown begins!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island » Wan Chai
October 23rd 2012
Published: October 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Asia Food Pilgrimage

8 weeks, 8 cities, 3 countries, over 20,000 miles!

<!--><xml> <o:OfficeDocumentSettings> <o:AllowPNG/> </o:OfficeDocumentSettings></xml><!-->

Today is officially 99 days till I jump on a plane and head to Asia, I know it’s a bit early to start my blog but I’m just so excited!! For over 2 years now I have been planning this trip using the internet, guide books and the travel channel to get information and inspiration, it all started with the simple idea of going to Asia to see the celebrations for the Chinese New Year/Spring Festival! The more I researched my trip the more i started to add other things I wanted to see and do like the Terracotta Army, the Great Wall, the Forbidden City, and so my plans for a one week holiday evolved into a 2 month trip back packing around Asia!

I worked really hard this year in my new job; I sacrificed a lot of things like going out with mates. But the end result is I have totally paid for my trip, and saved all the spending money I will need to cover my time out there. I'll be visiting 8 cities in 3 countries, traveling over 20,000 miles. Starting with 10 days in Hong Kong for the Chinese New Year then I’ll be moving on to Guangzhou, Shanghai, Xian, Beijing, Tokyo, Bangkok and finally Phuket. I have been a chef for over 20 years so one of my main objectives is to try as much of the local food as possible, I plan not to use a knife and fork for the whole time lol.

In the last couple of months I have started getting ready to go away, ordered new passport, bought some new walking shoes, new clothes, got some travel guides and maps to take with me. All I need to do now is count down the days and start packing!! Wish me luck and i hope whoever reads this enjoys my journey as much as i do, of course i will be adding pictures taken through my time in Asia!!

Advertisement



25th October 2012

Japan
Make sure you take lots of pics, especially Japan bro!
3rd December 2012

Trip research
Hi there, my uni friends are coming to HK and I am trying to research what to do here (I have not lived here long). Where did you find your Hong Kong trip information? Thanks!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb