Dim Sum


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island » Wan Chai
February 25th 2011
Published: February 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The concept of "dim sum" basically refers to that late breakfast/early lunch concept (known as "brunch" in the West) where people select various little portions of food and make an entire meal and social gathering. The Spanish refer to their little appetizers as "tapas" and so on. So the Cantonese have dubbed their version, "dim sum". I have only provided this long-winded definition because as I spent my first 24 hours in Hong Kong, I can't help but to see the parallel between this city-state and the concept of dim sum itself.

Hong Kong is a huge buffet table and everyone is invited to take what they want and need from its vast number of "dishes". My oh-so-adorable hotel is the perfect reflection of the shallow side of this city. Everything in it is quite funky and fashionable...the purple drapes match the stripes in a divan that won't even fit my feet. The sink is so sharp in presentation but lacks a practical purpose as water splashes all over the washroom. The room exudes style but lacks sensibility...and I'm afraid...heart.

It would be easy to discount Hong Kong as the imperial capital of materialism in the East. As the plane landed, I noticed several young women dashing to the washroom to get out their Louis Vitton scarves and Fendi purses all brushed and ready for that Oscar-worthy exit into the arrivals lounge at the airport. Everywhere I look I am bombarded by advertisements for items that are far out of the reach of my pocket books. Yet, store after store is full of people buying, analyzing, cooing and in many cases, purchasing this "must-have" item.

At the same time, my hotel is located in quite a residential neighbourhood, where you can judge by the photos is quite "real" in essence and does not aspire to anything but day-to-day living. Markets spring out of every corner and I was quite jostled and knocked about as I tried to find my way to the local Metro station. Everyone around here literally airs their "dirty laundry" on whatever space they can find. Space in this case...is the real luxury.

It would be quite easy to become claustrophobic in this city. You are constantly in the presence of thousands of people rushing to and fro with the subway system (meticulously organized I may add!) adding the climax to that sense of being trampled by the mobs. Skyscrapers seem to hover over everything and stare down at you like giants at every corner. Even my escape to Victoria Peak, the view of the city I remembered being so dazzled by 21 years ago has changed. Instead of a simple walkabout, it is now a huge shopping/eating complex where you can buy "more", eat "more" and spend "more"!!! I can see how the very wealthy enjoy what little greenery there is in the city by living in this exclusive area but it certainly is no longer a respite from the masses.

Do I love Hong Kong? I can certainly appreciate its energy and its productivity. I wonder what price the general population pays for living in such a place. But the people are friendly and helpful. Minutes before I arrived at this cyber cafe, I noticed I was in quite a different part of town. Scantily-clad women were beckoning me to come into their "bars" and enjoy a drink and as their signage indicates, some "entertainment". That certainly makes me laugh when I consider the reality of me ever doing that! However, it does make me think there can never be enough "dishes" at that celebrated dim sum we know as "Hong Kong".


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



27th February 2011

'Dim Sum
Ah Kevin, How nice, I love the pics, I think I would really like it here despite that claustraphobic kind of crowding. It is so interesting and very much alive!! I see what you mean about considering "Vegan" haha I wouldn't ask either! Love to try new things, how exciting for you. Well can't wait until your next entry, I'm still enjoying this trip immensely. Thank you. You write so well Kevin, like I said before......it feels like I'm there xo

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb