Fun in Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island » Wan Chai
August 21st 2009
Published: August 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hong Kong was absolutely fabulous. The people were great and the city was amazing. We met some wonderful people, did the markets, had dinner in the revolving restaurant, did a Harbour River cruise by night, shopped and ate at the Temple Street markets, participated in the shaking of the sticks and had our fortunes told at Sik Sik Yuen Temple at Diamond Hill, and climbed the 168 (or so) steps to the big Budda on Lan Tau Island in over 35 degree heat (not that I was counting or anything!!!) The temple was absolutely amazing and it was wonderful to see people praying, shaking sticks and lighting insence, and to be a part of the culture and history of Hong Kong, China. That I made it to the top of the steps to get to the Budda was a miracle in itself, and required a massive amount of divine intervention, I am sure!! The sweat was literally pouring off of us, and the stall selling hats and fans did a great trade that day!

The train system in Hong Kong is so fast, efficient and clean (except for the one carriage we entered where someone, obviously coming home from Disney Land, as we were on that line, had vomitted all over the floor!), which made getting around so easy. We were masters at it by the time we had to leave.

On our last night there we went out and spent our last dollars on the most delicious pizza and marguritas - mine made with Drambuies - which I have to say were the best I have ever tasted. It was a great night and I won't go in to detail, suffice it to say (for those reading Jen and Andy's blog who will get a slightly distorted account of events) that I was a little merry and engaged in some rather unorthodox Tai Chi on the way back to our hotel room (please don't post the photos Jen!!)

The trip to Edinburgh was long and I was reminded of why I chose to have a stopover on the way. My highlight, slash lowlight, was the 'intimate' "random search" that I endured on entering customs at Heathrow Airport. I have to say that I have never in my life been 'frisked' by another woman in such a way!!! Lets just say that if I was carrying anything in ANY place on my body, she would have found it!! All in public view too I might add!!

Edinburgh has been great, and I will write about that in the next blog. I'm not sure how to attach the photos on this at the moment so I may need to add those later.

I'm always in a rush doing this, so if you have any questions about any of the places please feel free to ask, as I haven't given a lot of detail.

Advertisement



22nd August 2009

Yum...I want them marguritas. I hope you got the recipe so you can make me some on your 'THIS WAS OUR HOLIDAY' photo showing/video viewing night when you get back! It all sounds so awesome, so glad you're having a ball. Luv LJx
22nd August 2009

Yes I did actually! Lol Jen took a photo of the ingredients on the menu as none of us were really up to writing down recipes when we thought about it! Having a great time and went out dancing last night. You will get the full story and 'evidence', I am sure, on the next blog (when I get a chance to write it!) Hope you are all well over there xx

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb