Sunday- Day of Touring


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island » Repulse Bay
February 17th 2013
Published: February 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

lunch at the japanese restaurantlunch at the japanese restaurantlunch at the japanese restaurant

rice with pork and egg with sesame dressing- my favorite japanese dish :)
Happy Sunday! After getting my hair cut yesterday which by the way- the hair salon is up about 500 steep stairs ( the road) to get to the place then you need to climb up 2 flights of stairs to get up there- I was worn out by the time I got there- LOL, went and got my key to the apartment, had my Octopus card updated so I can get in the building and open my mailbox , had the gas turned on , a walk thru of the very complicated looking intercom/ security system- it is pretty cool. You hit one button and it pages the concierage desk , another one let's security know you left the building so they will monitor your door for you and there is a panic button in it too- ha ha.. Then I met one of my co- workers and did some more work clothes shopping, hit a few bars and had a great dinner with her...

Today I decided to see a bit more of the hong kong island, aberdeen, repulse bay, stanley market and kowloon so I got on the Big Bus tour- which was very good and took the 3 different tours.

The Red tour is where I started- it goes through Hong Kong Islands- stops include: Golden Bauhinia Square, Hong Kong Convention Center, Wan Chai, Causeway Bay, Time Square ( shopping), Victoria Park, The Peak tram, Sheng Wan, Queens Road, Mid Levels, Man Mo Temple, Hollywood Road( Antique shops) Mid- Levels and the bar scene area which is in between Central and Mid Levels called Lan Kwai Fong. That was about an hour and 15 mins, then I hopped on the Green Bus tour.

The Green tour is 2 hours longs and goes out to Stanley and Aberdeen which includes Repulse Bay- exculsive neighborhood and this is where all the beaches are located. This included a ride on a Sampan- traditional Chinese boat.. It was pretty cool, a bit cold ( yes I said cold).. On this tour we saw ST John's Catherdral, we went by Ocean Park which is a huge amusement park and you need to ride a sky tram to get from one side of the park to the other- over a mountain, it is really cool looking, Repulse Bay- beautiful golf courses, beaches and houses, Stanley- the famous Stanley market and food plaza and Steven's Beach, went by the Jumbo floating Restaurant which John Wayne has eaten in there. Aberdeen where we had the Sampan ride and saw the traditional junkets. Then we looped through Po Fuk Lam which is a nice neighborhood 30mins away from Central Hong Kong.

The third tour is the blue tour which is to Kowloon; so you get back to the pier and hop the ferry to Kowloon. In Kowloon you see the following sights: The Peninsula - more shopping, Langham Place - Ladies Marekt is in this area- knock offs and shopping at a bunch of stalls- this place is crazy and packed. Temple Street , here you can see the Tin Hau Temple, Jade Market and Night Market. Hankow Road - this you can see the old architecutre and British influence. Mody Road - hotels, science museum and shopping.. Also pass Kowloon Park which is pretty.



So at Stanley Marekt- my battery in my camera died- yes I did not think to check if it was fully charged before I left, so i took a few photos with my iphone but they were not coming out that well so sorry- no pics of the ferry and Kowloon but I will go again on my own and bring my charged camera with me.

Now I just have to wait till Wed for my furniture to be delivered, cable to be hooked up with my wifi and i will be officially living and settled in Hong Kong.. Yahoo. Enjoy the pics of the views... If you want to come visit- plenty of room- just let me know.



Peace,

Sue


Additional photos below
Photos: 204, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Hong Kong Zoo and parkHong Kong Zoo and park
Hong Kong Zoo and park

this is a block down and 5 min walk from my apartment
Midlevels- western supermarketMidlevels- western supermarket
Midlevels- western supermarket

one of the supermarkets close to my apartment on Caine Street
Mid Level Escalator viewMid Level Escalator view
Mid Level Escalator view

from the bus tour- on caine street in the midlevels- my place is a block up
Pedestrian walk Pedestrian walk
Pedestrian walk

these are throughout Hong Kong
Cemetry in Po Fok lumCemetry in Po Fok lum
Cemetry in Po Fok lum

30 mins from Central Hong Kong
View of the islands from Po Fok LumView of the islands from Po Fok Lum
View of the islands from Po Fok Lum

Lamma Island across the way ; no cars- walking or bicycle only here
AberdeenAberdeen
Aberdeen

on the Stanley( Green route tour) heading to see the junkets and the sampan ride


Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb