Tbilisi (Georgia): Day 46 to 50


Advertisement
Georgia's flag
Asia » Georgia » Tbilisi District
July 28th 2023
Published: July 29th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Freedom Square Freedom Square Freedom Square

Freedom Square in Tbilisi
I arrived at Tbilisi, Georgia really early in morning and managed to get to my hostel.

It was a bit difficult to wake up my hostel owner at 430AM, but eventually it all worked out.

After resting a few hours, I headed out and explored the city, including Freedom Square, seeing the Sameba Cathedral and the painted stairs near the State Academy of Arts.

However, my first day was marred by an awful experience at Rustavel Avenue.

While I was walking back to my hostel, 3 girls (aged about 18-22) jumped at me and started begging. Two were literally on my face and a third sat on the road at my feet. I immediately checked my pocket (it was zipped) and realised she had stolen my wallet. I told them to return my wallet, of course they claimed they never took it. I asked locals for help (it's a busy street, at least 400-500 people around), but no one helped. I followed the girls, they jumped from bus to bus, when they realised I was following them, they even tried pushing me off a bus. I held on, by that time, I was on call with the
Sameba Cathedral Sameba Cathedral Sameba Cathedral

Sameba Cathedral
emergency line. The emergency operator told me not to follow them and asked me to wait at a place and the police would come. I did as instructed (of course the girls were gone by then), later got a call from the cops and asked to visit the police station. I put my statement in writing and lodged an official complaint. The lady there said these are gypsies who have been doing this and this is one of many cases. Later, when I got to my hostel, my hostel owner told me this kind of issue has been going on for 2 years now.

The loss of money, my bank card and India documents aside, what impacted me most that so many people saw but none stepped forward to help.

Hindsight is 20-20 and I learnt all the things I could from the experience, but it took me a few days to sort my head and not think of Georgia as an unsafe place, or locals as unhelpful or just feeling powerless.

I did decide to continue my trip after sorting out a bit of money (with help from my bank in India).

In travel, like
Opera House Opera House Opera House

Opera House
in life, things happen. My biggest learning is not to hold it in my heart and to move on. My journey is not going to change because of this experience.

I explored the Sulphur Baths of Tbilisi, which have given Tbilisi it's name (Tbilisi means warm place). The Narikala Fortress was also an interesting place to explore.

Like Sheesh Mahal in India, Tbilisi has a house of mirrors which is restored by arts students (it's a 19th century building).

My favourite part of Tbilisi was the evening, the sunset was amazing, I spent it around the Bridge of Peace and Rike Park.

I managed to grab some Indian food at Tbilisi. Lots of Indian students are doing medicine degree (MBBS) in Georgia (Tbilisi, Kutaisi and Batumi) and that has led to lots of Indian restaurants in the big cities.

Overall, Tbilisi is a big city and like any big city, it has its crowds, crazy drivers and tourists. But if you explore Tbilisi early morning, you will find it's streets empty and the sights interesting.

A hard but good start to Georgia for me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Painted StairsPainted Stairs
Painted Stairs

Painted Stairs near State Art of Academy
Streets of Tbilisi Streets of Tbilisi
Streets of Tbilisi

Streets of Tbilisi
Streets of Tbilisi Streets of Tbilisi
Streets of Tbilisi

Streets of Tbilisi
Mother of Georgia Mother of Georgia
Mother of Georgia

Mother of Georgia statue, she holds a wine vessel in one hand and a sword in another (kind of drink or die!)
Sulphur BathSulphur Bath
Sulphur Bath

A Sulphur Bath of Tbilisi
Sulphur Baths of Tbilisi Sulphur Baths of Tbilisi
Sulphur Baths of Tbilisi

Sulphur Baths of Tbilisi
Inside a Sulphur Bath Inside a Sulphur Bath
Inside a Sulphur Bath

Inside a Sulphur Bath
Narikala Fortress Narikala Fortress
Narikala Fortress

Narikala Fortress in the background
Mirror House Mirror House
Mirror House

Mirror House at State Academy of Arts
Bridge of PeaceBridge of Peace
Bridge of Peace

Bridge of Peace
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Sunset of Tbilisi
An evening in Tbilisi An evening in Tbilisi
An evening in Tbilisi

An evening in Tbilisi
An evening in Tbilisi An evening in Tbilisi
An evening in Tbilisi

An evening in Tbilisi


Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb