Dili at last


Advertisement
East Timor's flag
Asia » East Timor » Dili
April 19th 2008
Published: April 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

We stepped off the plane yesterday into thick, damp, heat and after getting our baggage we met Constantino and Dr. Christine for a ride to Bairo Pite Clinic, dodging children, dogs, pigs and motorcycles. After meeting with Dr. Dan, I was off to the Midwifery Ward (Partera) to meet the midwives and get acquainted. After a short time, the Liddle's came to say goodbye and I was on my own. I met a doctor who is volunteering at the clinic and he gave me a quick tour of the entire clinic and I met a ton of people.

The midwives and I sat and did a few prenatals as women wondered in and I was put to work immediately. Tetum is the language spoken here which is influenced by Portugese but still very different and my Tetum speaking ability proved to be very limited even with the studying I had done at home. The head midwife speaks very good english but the others are limited if at all. One of my tasks here is to teach English to the midwives as well as anything else I can share.

A little while later, I was told that they had found a place for me to stay in a house with several Timorese students and a driver came to take me to the house. By this time it was downpouring and we drove through the narrow streets being pelted by sheets of rain. When we arrived at the house, we had to walk through a river in the street to get to the front door. There I met Mana Mary who showed me to my room. She speaks no English and my Tetum seemed to be causing more confusion as I tried to discuss the details of my stay, however, she was patient and asked me if I would like to wash up. Afterwards she gently tapped on the door and offered me coffee and cookies. The coffee was a packet of Nescafe instant cappucino, and tasted delicious considering I was so tired and hungry, so I drank the super sweet coffee and ate a packet of cookies.

The night was not as hot as I thought it may be and I slept well tucked under my mosquito net. The dogs and roosters woke me early in the morning which will be the case everynight here, I have learned, and it sounds like they are right under my window.






Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb