Wot no riotous crowds?


Advertisement
East Timor's flag
Asia » East Timor » Dili
March 27th 2008
Published: March 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hrrmph. I've been here for several hours and I haven't seen any sign of trouble, not even a slightly irritable mob.

Dili is absolutely crawling with people going about their normal business. Not only that, but I cleared the airport in moments, got a taxi easily into town, found somewhere nice to stay for only $15/night, and I even managed to lodge my Indonesian visa application and book some dive trips. All of this I achieved before lunch, which was also easy and cheap.

Now I have the afternoon to fill. I've been told to go and see Jesus' backside. Apparently there's some really good snorkelling back there.

I've also been told several times by different people that I'm staying next door to the best Indian restaurant in East Timor. That's going to be handy for dining out and then getting home before the curfew kicks in.

The curfew has been relaxed slightly - you can now stay out until 11pm - and the state of siege has been downgraded to a state of emergency. Things are looking hunky dorey.

Sorry for not proving all the worriers right :-p

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb