More from Dili, East Timor


Advertisement
East Timor's flag
Asia » East Timor » Dili
March 6th 2008
Published: March 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Megan

Houston - Los Angeles - Taipei - Bali - East Timor -

Me with YowlieMe with YowlieMe with Yowlie

Jesse's cat is quite sweet and only occasionally claws me.
Dili is still treating me well. The curfew has been pushed back to 10pm, so there's a bit of going out at night.


Things continue to be calm as suspects involved in the assassination attempts turn themselves in. One of the biggies, Salsinha, was thought to be turning himself in at the Government Palace the other night. Jesse received a call around 8pm that something was going on at the Palace and took off to do his journalist thing. I was left at home wondering what was happening. It turned out that Salsinha turned himself in to the Catholic Church in his home town. So nothing was really happening at the Palace, other than the PM Xanana Gusmao giving a press conference.


At the clinic, I've been editing funding proposals and helping Annie train a media relations person. Annie is in the midst of negotiating chemotherapy treatment in Singapore for a kid who has leukemia. Annie thought there was funding/donated services, but now it's unclear.


I spent a day with Victoria, the health beat reporter at the Dili Weekly, visiting the National Hospital and Bairo Pite Clinic (same clinic as above). Jesse asked me to
Jesse pre-haircutJesse pre-haircutJesse pre-haircut

Jesse making margarita-mole. Guacamole with all the ingredients for margaritas in it. Mmmm...
encourage her and give her some interviewing tips. Jesse is eternally grateful and thus let me cut his hair.


Last Sunday, Jesse and I visited our host families, those that now live in Dili. Everyone was happy to see us. Ano was particularly happy because I brought him the lyrics to - wait for it - Akon's Don't Matter per his request. Another person eternally grateful.


The other day I made a stop at Arte Moris, Timor's free art school. They have some amazing pieces. I especially like the pieces painted on tais (traditional woven cloth).


Last night I went to one of my old haunts and had an Aussie meal of pizza, sticky date pudding and Melbourne Bitter. It was good catching up with the other former Peace Corps people who were there (Jesse S., Sarah M., Annie and Jesse's girlfriend Jess and Annie's boyfriend Curran - I know I should have a photo of this). This weekend we're going camping in Liquisa for Annie's birthday.


Mostly I've been enjoying a semi-normal routine in Dili, hanging out with friends and doing a little bit of this and that.


Jesse sans hairJesse sans hairJesse sans hair

Jesse being sullen about my taking his photo.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Mia and RonyMia and Rony
Mia and Rony

Mia and Rony decked out in their finest for the Sunday market in Laclubar.
Arte MorisArte Moris
Arte Moris

A painting from Arte Moris, Timor's free art school.


6th March 2008

Rony!
Rony looks so grown up! I'm so enjoying your blog. Our greetings to Jesse, Annie and Romana -- and Rony, if he remembers us! Stay safe~~~ Lots of love, Mom
7th March 2008

It looks like Jesse took Ron's hair from the stuffed monkey and pinned it to his head. Thank goodness for your stylish haircut. I have been enjoying your blog!! I was hoping to visit Timor this summer but my teaching salary may not let that happen so your blog is taking its place for the moment. Also, my 6th grade students keep asking what happened to my monkey so if you ever go through Salau (I understand that will probably not happen), please ask them what happened to Sikitu. The male students in my class want him in the states as a class pet. Enjoy the trip!! Foo complementos ba'a maun Jesse!!
8th March 2008

Hope you are having a great time
I had lunch with your Dad Thursday at a Chinese place near my office. Bill said it was owned by someone who had a place in Singapore. It is always crowded, but we got in and had a great lunch. We talked about Nicole had her expecting. We talked about the Austin Property which we thankfully have no interest. Any what a great experience you are having. We appreciate the updates. Alexander leaves for Italy with some school friends this next week and may get interested in travel like his cousin Megan. love ya , miss ya , have a great time
30th April 2008

Hey, I know that artist!!
Hey, that painting was done by one of my dobens! hooray for Arte Moris!

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0667s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb