HongKong RaceDay


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
December 17th 2014
Published: June 7th 2015
Edit Blog Post

It is June ... I am at the cottage/camp/cabin valiantly attempting to share my experiences during the China trip. The calamity on the Yantzebrings many memories of the China trip to mind ... many good stories to impart ... so here it begins ....

December 17 ... very close to the departure from Hong Kong.

I discovered that the plane was leaving 2 hours earlier than I thought … good thing I checked…the clerk at hotel helped by calling the airline. Mini-Central Hotel a good choice …tiny room but sufficient!

...had coffee at Starbucks, went to the big Post Office to mail my silk(?) square meter of cloth from Western Market and info about Ma Wing-shing, the comic book artist.



Visited the Happy Room ( WC) (toilet), topped up my OctopusCard so as to pay for the ride to the Airport on Dec 18., tomorrow …boo hoo… and headed for Wan Chai to seek out the wool shop. Re-entering mainland China and have no idea where I will be able to find knitting wool. Best to be prepared.

Actually with the address it was quite easy to find. At the shop called Cheers she had a lot of bulky wool but I did find some variegated for the top of the sock and then a nice lavender for the bottom. I will make the top of the sock one whole 50gms of wool … maybe a little bigger so it can go higher up my calf. These will be 268hkd socks.

Again, orienting myself to the water, I was on my wrong side so sought directions. The girl at the wool shop put the harbour behind me and the way was clear to find the tram.



Walking towards the tramline I passed some restaurants, a silver shop that had no charm suitable for my bracelet and a line-up in front of a Vietnamese hole in the wall. Joining the line-up I waited and in no time a table for one was found. I sat facing the wall with the entry door behind. To get to the toilet a key was used on a door in the alleyway. Don’t ask about the conditions of the green fixtures … although it could have been worse. Primary rule … touch nothing without paper on your fingers … that goes for everywhere even back at home and public places!

The soup was delish. Bean sprouts and cut jalapenos came on a separate plate. Basil and other herbs were stuck in a glass with scissors. The soup bowl was huge. Broth was a clear light brown. There were slices of beef still pink, two meatballs, lots of tripe, and unidentifiable something that looked like meet but had a texture like an undercooked turnip. All of the above floated over a bed of rice noodles. The cooked melon slice I ate half of and of the unidentifiable object I took bite. One slice of beef was the straw that broke my back … could not eat it. The whole concoction cost 79hkd.

Now almost 14:00 it was time to catch the Happy Valley Tram. Rode it to the end of the line changed trams and got out in front of the museum. Had to take a subway (walking under the street) to get to the door.

Up the elevator on the second floor is the smallest museum that has yet been encountered and this at the end of a strenuous half hour journey …good thing did not walk the stretch… although in hindsight that would have been much more exciting what with the wondrous shops seen from the tram.

Now to view the museum and wait for the races to begin.

Displayed were; a stuffed horse, a skeleton of a horse, three papier mache jockeys, member ship cards of dead and past British member, Silk painted opening day schedules, a chronological depiction of the HK Jockey club, and a long list of the charitable works done by the Jockey Club. These in fact are many and since the Club is an incorporated company one hand seems to wash another.

Did buy a shopping bag with a horse on it for 120hkd.

Am sitting in the foyer of the Hong Kong Jockey Club Racecourse Museum. The Restaurant is full up because today is Wednesday … race day … racing at 19:15 that is ….so I am waiting.

Beside me is sitting a 51 yr. old woman who has come to visit HK for seven days from mainland China…that is all that is allowed by the Gov’t. She is a retired health practitioner. Speaking with her is most enlightening and she is very pleasant company. We wait together in an area in front of the museum door. Thru the floor to ceiling glass walls we have the race track laid out in front of us all alight with some horses out to test their legs. The grass is emerald green, many support vehicles are dashing about and grounds workers are checking last minute details. It is exciting. I have been looking forward to seeing a major racetrack in the middle of a city on a miniscule island since my high school days when I first read about it.

This ten day visit to Hong Kong has been a long time coming … sorry I did not manage it before the 99year lease expire date in 1998 … correct me if I am wrong.

Still waiting 19:15 and the first race.

The seats are beginning to fill up. More horses are out engaging in short spurts of speed. The starting gates are in place. Horse and jockey are jockeying into position … deliberate pun LOL!

…and race #1 is over in like 3minutes … did not time it exactly. Stayed for a two more races. Now it is dark and time to catch the tram back downtown and the Mini-Central Hotel.

Finding my way back is easy … get on the correct tram …retrace my steps.

Love this place.

Did forget about the fact that it was mountainous. Once off the tram at the lowest lying street had to negotiate the upward climb thru myriad kiosk peddling Christmas wares.

Once on the Airport Express and speeding away from the glass jungle I was instantly sorry to be leaving. Not sorry to leave downtown ... will get a room in the suburbs next time like staying on Kowloon side ... for the first trip it was important to be in Hong Kong proper.

Almost time to board. Just finished my second survey about my trip to Hong Kong conducted by a young member of the tourist board.
The boarding gate is arrived at by bus.
My baggage I left far behind before even boarding the metro. Its 14:20. Better get going. Will continue the departure odyssey later in Lijiang. Arrive there after a stop in Kunming. Maybe I'll write from there.
Hope this email works when I get back to the Mainland. If not you will not be hearing from me till Jan16.
Everything is going well

Love to all Barbara...OXOXO

Advertisement



7th June 2015

AMAZING
Barbara - I am so in awe of all the traveling you do by yourself! I say good for you. Sounds like a wonderful trip - one I've never taken and now won't at my age. Trudy and I still take a major trip every year and we will take 2 next year - back to Costa Rica in April 2016 and another cruise out of Barcelona but this time to Athens next Oct. 2016. Keep going gal and stay well and safe. Bev.

Tot: 0.765s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 57; dbt: 0.133s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb