First (Half) Day in Xi'an


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
May 16th 2015
Published: May 28th 2015
Edit Blog Post

This journal begins on the 16th, since the 15th was lost to travel.

We went to hot pot for lunch. It was surprisingly similar to hot pot restaurants that I’ve been to in America. Same meats, same vegetables, same seasonings, etc. It was very delicious, but I was still feeling a little sick so I did not eat that much.

After hot pot we went to a museum. There were many interesting and ancient pieces, I took many pictures. Unfortunately, I do not have an SD to USB adapter and there isn’t built-in one on my laptop. I will upload pictures as soon as I am able. I really enjoyed the museum because in America there aren’t really any museums with items that are as old as the ones in China.

I was approached in the museum by 3 or 4 people who wanted to know where I was from. I told them I was from America and they got very excited and wanted to take a picture with me. I also had more people come up to me outside and tell me I was beautiful and wanted to take pictures with me as well. I think it is because I am very pale and thin, which many Asian cultures find attractive.

After the museum we went to the city walls. The total length around the top is around 8 miles. It is currently the most complete and oldest city wall in China. It used to be much larger. When I can get pictures uploaded, I will upload a picture of the current city wall size compared to the old city wall size. We rode bikes all the way around the top of the wall. It took a little over an hour. It was very bumpy, but it was a lot of fun.

I also got stopped for many pictures on the city wall. In total, probably around 50 pictures on this day. It is like I am a celebrity here. At first it was a bit strange with so many people asking for photos. However, back in America I cosplay a lot so after a while I get used to the pictures. I think it is fun because I get to meet many new people and everyone is so friendly!

We ate dumplings for dinner. Xi’an is famous for their dumplings. We had many types: duck, chicken, pork, beef, vegetable, shrimp, and more. I was still feeling sick and jetlagged at dinner, so I didn’t eat as much. I went to bed as soon as we got back from dinner because I was very tired.



Thank you for being patient with me. Internet access isn’t always fast enough for me to update and access my blog. I will do my best to write again soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



28th May 2015

pictures
Indeed you are beautiful, imagine if they saw you in a cosplay costume! Please be careful and stay with your friends.....I can't wait to see all the pictures!
28th May 2015

hello
Kiah wanted me to tell you hello and have a good time,

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb