Hitching a ride aboard the Trans-Mongolian Express!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
August 20th 2006
Published: September 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I almost feel like Harry Potter boarding the Hogwarts Express. Traveling by train is not something I grew up with, like the Toronto subway or York Region buses. I’m relatively inexperienced in train travel, save for my experiences in Taiwan and Thailand, and this was the nicest train I’d seen to date! Boarding the train was something of a guessing game: How do I read my ticket? What car am I in? Who will I be sharing a box-sized compartment with for the next two days? And will my pack fit through the door?!

I finally found the right compartment, and low and behold I KNEW the people already inside! When I had purchased my ticket a few days before, the only other people in the ticket office were a French couple. I didn’t talk to them then but there they were! I was relieved that I was in a car with other foreigners, as 30 hours with a Chinese family or Russian business men might have led my trip down a not-so-pleasant path. So Franck & Christelle (who live in Lyon) and I began the ritual of first introductions. Before we were finished we were joined by another Frenchie named Yafeh, who is actually from Lebanon, but has been living in France for 20 years. Perfect! I would get to practice my French for the next 30 hours!

Living on the train was a riot. Right next to our compartment was the hot water dispenser (all you can drink😉 so as long as you brought your mug, instant coffee packs and noodles, you were golden! Thankfully, Nicky had given me the lowdown on train life the day before I left Japan so I was ready with ‘supplies’.

The train started moving and the four of us talked, talked, talked. I was so genuinely happy to be in such great company. It turned out that Franck and Christelle had actually lived in Grenoble a year ago (the city I’m moving to in France next year) and have already offered to hook me up with friends of theirs to help me find an apartment (I love making International connections!) And Yafeh lives right in Paris with his own ‘Salon de The’ (coffee/tea house) so I’ll be visiting him for sure!

We passed the Great Wall of China (which I hadn’t cared enough to go see while I was
Yafeh & I plus Christelle & FranckYafeh & I plus Christelle & FranckYafeh & I plus Christelle & Franck

Those 30 hours passed pretty quickly!
in Beijing) and the four of us went a little photo crazy. Especially Yafeh and his tripod, he loves that thing!

The scenery changed so quickly and the ride itself went by in an instant! We stopped at the Chinese-Mongolian border late at night to have our passports inspected and stamped and then we also had to disembark the train in Erlian (on the Chinese side) for THREE hours!!! Turns out that the rails on the train don’t match the tracks on the Mongolian side, so each time the train gets to Erlian, they have to change the freakin’ rails!

Once we were back on the train, it was EASY to fall asleep and we all slept for a long time. It wasn’t long before we reached Ulan Bataar.

Once at the station, Franck, Christelle and Yafeh went off to the UB Guesthouse, while I waited for my host Uli to come pick me up.
(Of course we already had plans to meet up in a couple hours)

And now, I’m here! I’m actually IN Mongolia! And the sky is BLUE!!!!!!!!!!!!!
(Insert overly dramatic heavenly singing here)




Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

the landscape is CHANGING!!!the landscape is CHANGING!!!
the landscape is CHANGING!!!

The great wall from the train
the landscape is CHANGING!!!the landscape is CHANGING!!!
the landscape is CHANGING!!!

The great wall from the train
the landscape is CHANGING!!!the landscape is CHANGING!!!
the landscape is CHANGING!!!

The great wall from the train
Life inside Car #1Life inside Car #1
Life inside Car #1

Christelle & Franck
Who needs HOT water!Who needs HOT water!
Who needs HOT water!

Can one live on noodles and coffee for 30 hours? The answer is YES...but not happily.
The sceneryThe scenery
The scenery

Inner Mongolia I believe...(thats still China)
train dinnertrain dinner
train dinner

Not so yummy...we were all pretty sick of the smell and taste of noodles after 30 hours.
We've arrived! We've arrived!
We've arrived!

Ulan Bataar Train Station


10th September 2006

you rock!
I miss you so much my wench! Im so glad youre traveling so I can live vicariously through you!
11th September 2006

Hey you!
hey you i officially love reading this - and i love that you always add pics krys!!! though i have to say i miss you and can't wait to hang out with you - you are always an inspriation to my travel bone - you make it twitch everytime i read about your adventures!!! Miss you lots!!!! Sending hugs and love!!! (And ps. since i am such an A** for not sending that care package (i am horrible with mail of any sort i have come to realize) I owe you a nice dinner and hang out as my treat when you get back! Whereever you feel like going! ok talk to you later - love ya! Cam
12th September 2006

Dear Krysta
We rush to the computer to see what country you are in this week. What an amazing trip. We are all so jealous and full of admiration for your adventuresome trip. We would have emailed you sooner but were somewhat confused as to how to do it. Pretty easy when you read all the stuff after the blog. We so look forward to your report from Mongolia. I do not know how you have the time to put all the wonderful pictures and reports together. You are amazing. We are all fine and you keep well. Love and kisses.
12th September 2006

memory lane
wow! tran-siberia railway is superb, isn't it? but the toilet is much cleaner and the bed seems much more comfortable! i just stopped at the ulaan baatar station for about 20 minutes, so tell me more about u.b., ok? waiting for you in Malaysia! love.
14th September 2006

sounds like you're having a ball!
Hi Krysta! Remember me your Australian friend from the hostel in Beijing? Good to see that you're having an exciting time! I am now back in Melbourne but my China travels - especially Tibet - were great. The road was rough and the amenities basic but the scenery was amazing - especially Everest. It's good to be home but I somehow feel like I never left. Enjoy your travels as they continue! Lisa
15th September 2006

I finally figured it out!
Hey Krysta.......I finally figured it out. However.......I just sent you a blog and I believe I lost it so I'm sending you another! You are having soooo much fun!!!! You should write an action/adventure script and then produce and direct a movie. You would have a winner for sure. You are living the life people don't even dream about because they just don't know. How are the guys? Ha ha. Love you much.
18th September 2006

China!!
Krysta, I have to agree that it is great to have international connections!! The french however are still not ok with me....Paul and his cousin used to play that french game and there was some "song" that went along with it!! I don't know what it's all about...but just chalk it up to the French!! Anyway, the great wall of China!! That is extra cool!! I think that'd be something I'd definitley want to see!! Mind you, I'm just about crazy enough to want to climb it too!! I did conquer that beast of a mountain, Mt. Fuji!! I'm forever proud to say I did that!! Certainly not crazy enough to do it again!! Keep the blogs comin' woman!! Katie
16th April 2007

Connections
Let me just say I'm glad you haven't gone to Grenoble yet. It would suck if we didn't meet. Do you still keep in touch with the people you met on the train? You know people all over the world! At least I know I have a standing invitation from the Belgian couple I met in Costa Rica.

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 36; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb