The Road to Russia pt2 Suifenhe


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
July 2nd 2006
Published: July 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Suifenhe around 630am and started looking for a way to get to Russia. My first thought was to go into the train station and see if I could get a ticket for Vlad. The train did not seem so full, so many this would work. As soon as I entered that part of the station, chaos!! The russian traders were there en masse. Instead of having goods shipped, the russians come with big canvas bags and fill them with all sorts of goods that they bring home to resell. everyone gets a bag, and they bring the whole family, so even the children have these bags bigger then them. I tried to find a ticket window, figured it out, but same language problem as Harbin. So, this time, I went outside, and thought, I have some time, I will find a travel agent and they will understand what I want. There was nothing readily available, but many taxi's. I asked one driver to find me a travel agent (phrase book was good for that). He said no problem, hop in. Away we went, and through the business district and into residential area, funny place for an agency. We pulled up to a building and 2 woman came outside. One asked me, "where do you wish to go?". I answered russia, then a young man jumped into the car and said, I will help you. Turns out he is an english teacher, not an agent, and has never travelled in his life, but wants to help me...I am happy for this. We try the bus station, but it is closed down, done for the day. So, back to the train station and russian traders. We make it in there, but this young man does not know where Vlad is, the chinese have a different name for it and if Murray had gotten Carol to write it down, like all things around China, he probably would not be doing what he is doing now! Finally, someone in the station understands what he is trying to do, and gives him a name. We go to the agent, and boom, a ticket. The ticket is much less then I was quoted in Beijing, but I am happy to have it. I say goodbye to my new friend and off I go to Russia. When I go through customs, my passport causes a little trouble, they are so used to seeing Russian traders and chinese tourists that a Canadian passport caused a stir. I had to wait in an office for an official to clear me, then it was on to the train. It was a short ride to the border, less then an hour, then off to go through customs. There, my passport causes some discussion, and the lack of a photocopy for my visa, but they had a machine there, so no panic. And so I waited for the train, and when it was time to board, I found out why my ticket was so cheap...it was only good to the border. So, no entry on the train, and away it went. I tried to phone my contact in Vlad, but no answer. I got some Roubles out of an atm, but for some reason it would only let me have 2000 (my limit i found out later should have been 15000). A taxi driver approached me and said he would drive me to Vlad for 3000. Because I think my limit is 2000 (or around 450Ca) I am thinking this guy is trying to get me. He then says 100US, so then I figure out the machine has made a mistake on my limit. I swallow deep, and take his offer, not sure what will happen if I stay, and I know I have somewhere in Vlad once I get there. As it turns out, the drive to Vlad is nice, and takes around 3 hours, so not totally out to lunch. I arrived in Vlad, got ahold of my contact, and then relaxed...finally in russia, and in one piece. The rest of the evening was at an outdoor concert, the birthday of Vlad was this day, and finally fireworks to finish the evening. Now, time to plan the rail journey😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb