Stumbling through visa hurdles.


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
October 12th 2010
Published: July 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So I have been working hard, making speechs at ceremonies, attending dinnerparties and mingling with an unspecific aim of seeing the different lifestyles people live in this country, in the process improving my Chinese and developing various reputations in this city. Also my list of global sofas in which I'm invited to collapse on is expanding a good rate.

But alas, I have begun to fall to fall into a vague routine, which is inevitable in a working life. Still though a hurdle I've seen coming for a long time has appeared larger than I realized now I'm standing in front of it. Hurdles, although often tedious, can be great ways to shake off the dust. So I tell my boss 1 month ago that my visa will run out soon.

"Not to worry we have plenty of time".

Excellent, I think. But after 2 weeks I mention it again. 1 week... So I ask, if I should book my flights as the government have my passport for my application. I'm told that everything is being taken care of and to relax.

Hmmmm ok, I think. So today is the last day of my visa, also the day I'm told to answer some questions at the visa office. But they say it's not ready and I need to leave China before midnight the next day. Thank you overly relaxed Chinese attitude.

So as I write this I'm watching the clock as I need to go home, pack a small bag, then go out meet someone who will deliver the flight tickets I just bought. Catch a plane to Guangzhou at 5.00am then find a train or bus to Hong Kong. I then wait there until the visa office here finishes my 'foriegn expert certicate' that my school then post to me in HK. Once I recieve it I apply for a work visa at the Hong Kong embassy. When that application is finishes I can make my way back to Xi'an

Hong Kong is expensive though... anyway I really need to go get my money so I can pay this delivery guy.

Hopefully should have abit of an adventure!

^_^

Advertisement



12th July 2010

thanks
Richard just wanted to say how much i am enjoying your news.Thank you for including me.I havn't wanted to bother you but don't think i am not appreciative. Yes Hong Kong is outrageously expensive and clinical now from when i first visited pre 92 but still lots of fun. enjoy.x penny
12th July 2010

yay
good to hear ur still alive and well! haha does sound like the beginning of an adventure indeed ^_^ im glad u updated this because id lost ur email addy some how n was wondering how to contact u (not for anything in particular but to see how u are :P ) i am starving, need to cook some dinner, will give you a message soon. stay safe :D xxx
13th July 2010

Come to Sanur, Bali if you can't get your visa sorted. My scuba diving instructor taught english here before he worked as a dive instructor :) / good luck getting it all sorted. xxx
18th July 2010

hello stranger
richard! sounds chaotic!!!!!! and also sounds like ALOT of excitement! i really am glad to hear you're doing so well over there :) i've now graduated with a 2:1 and i am officially a qualified physio!! insane!!! :) anyway, so much has happened in my life! me n paul split up! so im off out into the real world as a single independent woman! paha! neway! you're great! keep smiling xxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0239s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb