Yangshou - Backpackers Paradise


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
September 10th 2009
Published: September 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I try to write my nameI try to write my nameI try to write my name

I think there is room for improvement
I've whined about the length of our trains on this trip but the one between Shanghai and Yangshou really takes the biscuit. It lasted 25 hours 30 mins . I have never been so glad to get off a train. Lucky us still had an hour and a half bus journey before we reached Yangshou.

I haven't taken many photographs of the town itself though I have plenty of the surrounding areas. From the minute I arrived there I was disappointed with the town itself. It is very western. Bars and clubs line the streets with tourists shops crammed in between. To get anything local you really had to wander the backstreets.

I'm not saying I didn't have a good time there because I certainly did! It was an action packed three days where I learned Tai Chi and Calligraphy attended the Yangshou Cooking School, went bamboo rafting, attended a light show and kayaked for 3 hours down the river!

Tai Chi and Calligraphy


I did these on the first morning. The Tai Chi is relaxing as everyone makes out! But watch out, I've learnt how these apply to fighting, I may have to try them out.
Tuk TukTuk TukTuk Tuk

A bit of a hair raising ride to the river with very little to grab onto


It really helped for the calligraphy, it takes a steady hand and easy mind to master it. The brush has to be held upright all the time and it really makes sweeping curves and straight lines difficult. But by the end I got a smile from the teacher for my efforts on 1-10, person, sky, big, wood, tree and forest. The greatest triumph was probably managing my name which means beauty and wisdom!

Bamboo Rafting


I had visions of trying to steer myself down the river on a raft with only a pole to aid me. It turned out to be nothing like that. The rafts are petrol propelled and there is a driver steering you. We did see the farmers using the more traditional rafts on the river as we went by. It was however still amazing going down the river with the hills on all sides. They are all of varying shapes and angles and just when you thought you were getting bored of them, water buffallo appeared in the water.

The Light Show


The light show was awesome. They lit three hills up and all the action took place on the river and on
Fit for a queenFit for a queenFit for a queen

My ride down the river was much safer!
the river banks. It was a great cultural display featuring something like over two hundred people. The fishermen on their small boats where incredible! They worked as a team in lines producing rivers of blood and something of a fight sequence. It is defintely worth the eighteen pounds that you need to pay to go.

Yangshou Cooking School


This was by far my favourite activity. We learnt how to prepare five dishes - beer fish, chicken cashew nut, pork in steamed vegetable, spinach with garlic and egg plant. The Chinese really love using garlic and the whole group has developed a love for it (we don't worry about garlic breath anymore) and I've learnt how to use it really effectively.

I laughed when we went in after a break to make the beer fish. There was a whole mug of beer sitting there and we put the whole lot in with the fish!

Kayaking


Thank goodness this was the last activity I did, my arms only stopped feeling sore two days later! We were sent out on to the river with narry an instruction on how to paddle and one man on his bamboo raft to keep
Making myself comfortableMaking myself comfortableMaking myself comfortable

The views were great from here
an eye on us and give the occassional tow. I worked out how to do it after a fashion but every few minutes that I paddled, I felt myself drifting to the left or to the right. It took some effort to straighten up after.





Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

O'er the Hills and far awayO'er the Hills and far away
O'er the Hills and far away

There are deceptive distances between the hills
Loch Ness MonsterLoch Ness Monster
Loch Ness Monster

The buffaloo rose suddenly out of the water all along our trip
Dry Land in sightDry Land in sight
Dry Land in sight

We were steered safely in by traditional methods
Synchronized RaftersSynchronized Rafters
Synchronized Rafters

They even lay down in their boats and kicked their legs up in time with each other
Lights on the WaterLights on the Water
Lights on the Water

The costume lights twinkled in and out as they danced their way across the water
Yangshou Cooking SchoolYangshou Cooking School
Yangshou Cooking School

We were taken out of the town into countryside.
First Glimpse of ImplimentsFirst Glimpse of Impliments
First Glimpse of Impliments

We even got a cup of tea to help us along with the cooking
I get to workI get to work
I get to work

The aprons were rather dashing
My first dishMy first dish
My first dish

I love eggplant
Dinner TimeDinner Time
Dinner Time

We got to eat our work and we were all very impressed with ourselves
Cheers! Cheers!
Cheers!

A drink on the last day


11th September 2009

Ok, kayaking alone a view like that? Now I am supremely envious!!!!! Its a pity the town itself wasn't that great, but the surroundings are absolutely amazing!

Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0722s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb