china


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
August 26th 2009
Published: August 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The GroupThe GroupThe Group

We did try jumping for the picture in the Square and failed
Hi everyone so I am safely enscounced in Xi'an after 6 days on the trail. So far everything is going really well. The tour group is made up of really fun people and we are all in danger of turning this into a food tour! We haven't had a bad meal yet and the group dinners have completely descimated all the food provided.

Seven days ago I set off from the airport and what an adventure it has been since then. The flight was long, I was knackered when I landed but I made two friends straight away in the same situation and we kept each other going until it was a reasonable time to go to sleep.

I've spent three days in Beijing exploring the Summer Palace, the Forbidden City, the Olympic stadium and above all exploring the food! I am in complete food heaven.

The Great Wall is incredible. We went to Sumatai, the much less touristy section. Of course this is with good reason, it is tough walking over steep terrain, up and down dips. A lot of these bits were broken stairs and of varying heights so it really put muscles and blanace to
TeaTeaTea

It costs 600 pounds!
the test. A gluton for punishment I got up alone at three the next morning to climb in the pitch black with my wind up torch to catch the sunrise. Of course I didn't realise what terrible surface and slippery bits I had managed until the way donw. I think I would rather never have known.

I then had my first experience of an overnight train. A small compartment with 6 beds two bunkbeds), they were narrow and not the most comofretable things ever but fun. We were all so tired we got the giggles and it went on for ages.

Xi'an is less pretty than Beijing, so far. I've walked the city walls and I am struck by the poverty of the houses in the inside of the walls compared to the more opulant high rises on the outside.

But what has remained constant is the stares. There are very few white people to be seen anywhere and people are taking photos of us to show their familes.

For those interested sites like facebook, twitter and photobucket are well and truly blocked here! I'll be back tomorrow after the Terracotta Warriors with more photos and
Noodles!Noodles!Noodles!

They aren't as easy as they look!
a much more detailed up date.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

OlympicsOlympics
Olympics

The area around the stadium was incredible
The Great WallThe Great Wall
The Great Wall

This really doesn't demonstrate the steepness properly
The TrainThe Train
The Train

It was that narrow and there were two more people below that


26th August 2009

That train compartment looks very small! Are there ladders to climb up to the bunks with? The palace and wall look absolutely incredible.
26th August 2009

The Master Approves
This all looks so amazing, I am terribly jealous man! Everything looks so beautiful and ornate and stunning. ^__^ and also, the Master is pleased you're scouting out destinations for world domination.
26th August 2009

Hello from Keele
Wow, it has been quite an adventure so far - are sure you don't want to swap places and finish my dissertation, only another 3000 words - tempted??? It is wet and blowing a gale here. No, didn't think I'd convince you to switch places. Glad that you arrived safely. I look forward to the next installement of the trip. The Terracota Warriors are one of the things mum would love to see, so I will have to give your report to her. It seems you have met with a really nice group of people, I am so glad for you. Enjoy! xxxxxx
27th August 2009

Train
Nope no ladders, just arm strength!
27th August 2009

better late than never!
It looks like you're having an awesome time! I'm vaguely jealous :) I'm glad you like the others you're travelling with hun! Hugs.

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0216s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb