First Post


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
August 9th 2009
Published: August 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Nimen Hao.

I made it here fine.

Answers to the questions everyone asked about China before I left:

1. Yes, the smog is bad. Buildings a block away have a mist cast over them. It's basically like constant fog, but the fog slowly decreases your lung capacity. Still, I haven't been short of breath while walking around the city, and the smell isn't that noticeable. On the other hand, you never know when it is going to rain.

2. According to my Chinese teacher, the Chinese have a saying "anything that flies in the air or walks on the ground the Cantonese (southern Chinese) will eat". In reality, she says, only the brave will try cat and dog. She is Cantonese and would never eat it. Other Chinese don't eat it at all. In a related note, I ate a starfish.

Well if I write more it will significantly cut into my bingo card making time (we started teaching two days after we landed. My class is Juniors ).

Real quickly: the food is as good as it is cheap, bicycles are much more popular than cars and frequently seat two, you can't flush toilet paper, there's like a billion Asians on the subway, air conditioning has government regulations, and I haven't taken any pictures.

John-Seth

Advertisement



9th August 2009

Nimen Hao to you!
So glad you are doing good. We miss you. Yes, Davis is alright...too bad. Do post some photos for sure. Mom
9th August 2009

Did the starfish taste like chicken? Glad to see you are blogging. Hope to read all about your adventures and live vicariously through you. You are too awesome for doing this!
9th August 2009

DUDE!
Glad you are alive, eating, eliminating, breathing, riding underground, bumping elbows, learning government regulations and not wasting time taking pictures!! All quiet on the western front, davis is well, I think, he doesn't say much. Getting his haircut in 2 weeks. JOrdan is well, I think, he says a lot but hard to tell. He has cut his hair three times in last week. Melinda is well, I think, she says but I don't listen. She may have gotten a haircut, I need to pay more attention! I am well, I think, I say but what do I know?? I haven't gotten a haircut, my barber is in China! Sounds like all is going well. DOn't tell me if it isn't, nothing I can do anyway! Ignorance is bliss! You will figure it out, you are pretty smart, like your old man. Love you, John-Seth, dad
11th August 2009

Hello
Ne Haa Ma ! I just tried to say hello to you in chinese. Hope you are near a McDonalds. :) What do you do with the toilet paper? Is the music, TV, radio all in chinese? How long was your flight? Do you use flash cards for your conversations? Did you take a laptop over there with you ? And finally did you remember to take your trophy with you ? :) Steve
11th August 2009

The Head
Glad you are fine. I miss you and I am happy you are experiencing something else other than Kentucky, Tennessee and Ohio. Your adventuresome spirit must come from me. HA HA Love you, Aunt Susie
12th August 2009

Hello John
Hey John, Glad to hear that you made it with no problems. Don't eat anything that doesn't look like it would be good. Be careful of the smog. Are you going to buy a bicycle or are you going to walk everwhere? There were a lot of Japanese also, seems like they just came out of the woodwork from time to time. The trains there were always full in the morning and at quitting time. Have you been to the great wall yet? Well better go for now. Hope your bingo card making goes well. See you soon.
18th August 2009

Hey Far Away Friend
Glad you are well and having a blast! You will have tons of stories, I'm sure. When you come home, mark us down for a game of Settlers...longest road will be mine!! ha Have a great day and know we are thinking about you! Andrea
24th August 2009

Um.
*knocks on monitor* Are you there? Where is your new blog entry??? You can't leave us all hanging like this! And pictures! I demand pictures!
31st August 2009

What are you doing?
Keep us up to date!!
15th October 2009

A follow up to Steve Brzytwas Q&A
John Seth, enjoy the Starfish. I don't believe I have the capacity to eat one and Elaine confirms the same thing. The Croquet trophy will be well taken care of, and we look forward to a rematch. Jim

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 4; ; mem: 1.1mb