Xian


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
August 1st 2008
Published: August 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I am sitting in a massive internet cafe here in Xian. I had trouble finding somewhere to jump on the internet and was starting to wonder if it was to do with the censorship stuff that is on CNN. No I just wasn't looking for a dodgey front in chinese characters and three flights of stairs,through a curtain door and into a smoke filled room with hundreds of computers (and people and red lanterns) - it is another world up here!

The overland trip officially started today. The others went to see the Terracotta Warriors, but as I was just there last October with a group from school I decided to pass on that one and kick around Xian. The Hotel where we are staying is right on the square not far from the Bell Tower (hence the name - the Bell Tower hotel). It is good being back here - Xian is a good place. The Chinese are trying hard to be friendly with the Olympics - I have met some very helpful people (though the lady in the lift that punched me in the back as I was moving backwards to let more people in must have missed that memo!). Just been kicking around having dumplings for lunch and Starbucks for morning tea.

We leave Xian on the 4th of August . I am back at the dodgey internet cafe having found to spot for my USB ... I now have photos. I went for a ride on the Xian wall this morning - it was good to get out and get some exercise. Will probably head to the Wild Goose Pagoda tomorrow - but not muh planned as yet. Happy to get this blog underway and a bit coloured with photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Flight from Hong Kong to XianFlight from Hong Kong to Xian
Flight from Hong Kong to Xian

I am collecting a series of 8.45 am photos. (that is the time that I usually start work). This is my 8.45am for the 31st of July - sitting on the flight from Hong Kong to Xian
8.45 am Friday the 1st of August8.45 am Friday the 1st of August
8.45 am Friday the 1st of August

aah ... yes Starbucks ... the reality is that I am usually still sitting in the staffroom finishing my coffee at 8.45am so this is probably not much difference than that .... (though no milk arrowroot biscuits in Starbucks!)
Xian Internet CafeXian Internet Cafe
Xian Internet Cafe

Here is a bit of an idea of the dodgey internet cafe in Xian
Cycling on the WallCycling on the Wall
Cycling on the Wall

I would like to pretend that I was up cycling at 8.45 am on the 2nd of August .... alas I was eating breakfast and that is a bit of a boring photo .... so here is one of me cycling about 90 mins later.


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb