Photos of Guangshui


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
October 21st 2005
Published: October 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

These photos show some of streets in our little city Yingshan and the neighbouring town, Guangshui. I will addd photos to this entry regularly over the next couple of months.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Footpath near our schoolFootpath near our school
Footpath near our school

Gangs of workers are currently putting cement footpaths along the road - I doubt they will ever finish and we know that they will never clean up the mess they make doing it.
The dilapadated temple on the hill overlooking the town centre.The dilapadated temple on the hill overlooking the town centre.
The dilapadated temple on the hill overlooking the town centre.

This temple has just started to be renovated and the hill below it has been excavated for a long flight of stairs laeding directly to it. It will be very impressive when finished.
Rubbish bin and toilet in the background.Rubbish bin and toilet in the background.
Rubbish bin and toilet in the background.

The rubbish is thrown away and then every piece is sorted by hand. A filthy job!
Another toilet block.Another toilet block.
Another toilet block.

Most of the local people living in the older houses don't have private toilets - they go to public toilets such as these which are on most corners.
Colourful thermal underwear.Colourful thermal underwear.
Colourful thermal underwear.

This underwear comes in many colours, styles and weights - for men, women and children.
Stalls in the main street.Stalls in the main street.
Stalls in the main street.

Sugarcane, fruit and biscuits for sale!
Hanging out to dry.Hanging out to dry.
Hanging out to dry.

Washing drying in one of the side streets in the city.


20th November 2006

my hometown!
Today I just suddenly wanted to search and check if there is anything about my hometown on English Web space. When I input ‘guangshui’ in google, and found this page is the top one in returned results. Actually I never thought there are something like that related to my hometown on English Web space. When I was a child, I never saw any western people in Guangshui. Now it seems there are some foreigners whose teach English in schools (No.1 high school?) China is open to the world. Anywhere? Thanks for pictures. I didn’t go back here for a really long time. They make me miss guangshui now.
12th February 2008

Guangshui is Changing
Just ran into this site, my hometown is on! Just like other cities and towns in China, it's changing quite quickly. I've been out of hometown and stayed in other cities for >10 years. My parents are still there and Miss my homeplace very much.

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0978s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb