Hong Kong at last


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
October 8th 2005
Published: October 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Just arrived at my hostel here in Hong Kong. We're 12 hours ahead here. It's overcast outside, around 80 degrees and super humid. The 21 hour flight from NYC went really smoothly- I had 3 feet of leg room in my exit row, they served us three fantastic meals, I read a book and half, and I got a decent amount of sleep (Thanks Ambien). The only annoyance was the many screaming babies, and perhaps even more annoying were the weird sounds their parents made for hours trying to quiet them down. "uh-yuy-uh-yuy-uh-yuy-uh-yuy". you get the picture.

I conveniently left the street address of the hostel in my desk at work, but at least knew which bus stop to get off at. So I wandered around a bit, and found a friendly young girl collecting money for the poor (or maybe for a new purse?) and she pointed me in the general direction after I gave her some loot. I also made a trip to an "hourly" hotel hoping for directions- 2 hours for only $10 US! But why would you only need a hotel for 2 hours? haha. all I found there were a few young chinese women walking out of the place, and a secretary who couldn't speak english.

But alas i'm here safe and sound. Meeting up tonight with a friend's brother. Free internet access and a decent computer in the hostel so i'll be sure to send some pics soon.



Advertisement



8th October 2005

Thanks for mail
Dad and I just read your note and we are THRILLED you let us know you're there safe. Here's hoping this is the start of a very exciting and fun time for you to remember for years to come. I love you. Mom PS GUS kept saying all through last night, Sol should be boarding in NYC now, arriving (around 8 am this morning, etc.)and finally before he went to bed an hour ago, where do you suppose our wandering Jew is now? He really cares about you boychick!
8th October 2005

Thanks for mail
Dear Sol, Dad and I are thrilled to know you arrived safely. I hope this is the beginning of a very exciting and fun time in your life you'll have great memories of for years to come. I love you - Mom PS GUS kept watching the clock and commenting, now Sol should be boarding in NYC, arriving in Hong Kong and just before he went to sleep an hour ago, where do you think he is now? He truly loves you boychick.
8th October 2005

Glad that you got there
Happy New Year and Congrats. Keep the posts coming, we're happy you made it. Today is the big Red River Shootout, with Texas playing Oklahoma. Big screen TV and beer. Neeha! Your nephew is 37" tall and is sleeping in his Big Boy bed.

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0203s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb