China With Shoestring


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
November 8th 2007
Published: November 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I have just returned from the most amazing adventure to China. The flight to Beijing seemed to go very quickly. I drove through Beijing with my guide, taking it all in. You can’t help to notice the size of this interesting city, with 17million people living there. I spent the afternoon, exploring the Temple of Heavenly Peace. Set in the centre of Beijing, within a beautiful park, this 38 meter tall temple is a wonderful reminder of China’s ancient history.

After a good nights sleep, I left early the next morning to see one of the Seven Wonders of the World, the Great Wall of China. This amazing structure can be seen from space and is one of the largest tombs in the world. I took a cable car up to the wall, where I was lucky enough to take a walk on the wall and explore the one of the many towers. It is very busy here, as there are only 2 or 3 locations from Beijing that you can walk on the wall. In the late afternoon, I was back in Beijing and ready to explore the Summer Palace, once used by Emperors. It is set next door to Lake Kunming in Beijing. In the evening I tasted a famous dish of Beijing, Peking duck, one word sums this up, delicious!

The next day, I was off to explore the more famous sights of Beijing. The Forbidden City and Tian An Men Square. Starting in Tiananmen Square, this huge sight is amazing, filled with people taking photos, selling things. In the centre is where Chainman Mao lays in rest. Due to the Olympics in 2008, there is lots of cleaning and building work taking place, it has to be finished by the end of this year. Due to this I was unable to visit the Moslem of the chairman the portrait of this formidable leader was the only sight to see. Hanging over the square, the leader portrait is also the gateway into the Forbidden City, the next place for me to visit. The size of this place is amazing with some 8700 rooms. There are no trees in the Forbidden City, so I got very hot walking in the sun. You can buy bottles of water that have been frozen. I spent hours wandering through this beautiful sight.

It was time to leave this wonderful city for the next stop on my journey Xi’an. To get there I was going to travel by overnight train, this 15 hour journey, would be an experience and a half. The train station is just like an airport, with the departure lounges packed with people and their luggage. The normal traveller may have 2 bags with them, NOT in China you have bags, boxes and countless carrier bags. I found my place on train, the noise and chatter as families, friends all boarding the train.

The following morning didn’t start the way I had hoped, the train wasn’t moving when I woke up. We had left Beijing, on time and I didn’t understand what was going on. The people on the train, didn’t speak English, I was lucky though as there was a group on the train, with a guide that spoke English, that explained the train was delayed by 8 hours.

I finally made it to Xi’an, where I met my guide Wallace. Driving through, this city which is surrounded by a huge wall, it is last remaining city in China to have a full wall still remaining. As it was the evening, when I arrived, I headed out to dinner. Where I tried Chinese hot-pot. A large pot of stock, which is placed in front of you, on gas stove. Then you order things to go into it, meat, fish, vegetables and noodles. What they don’t tell you is that you have to catch it with chop sticks!!!
The following morning, was an early start as we off to see the famous Warriors. I knew they were going to be impressive, it took my, breathe away, the number of them and the size of them. I spent a good few hours, exploring the sight, with my guide. On the way to the airport, Wallace took me a silk factory, where I learnt about the making of silk. I brought a beautiful scarf here, for my mum.

I flew to Lijiang, when I arrived it was pitch black, no street lights. I was taken by taxi to the hotel, where I fell straight to sleep. After a wonderful breakfast, I met my guide who, suggested that we explore the old city. Walking down, tiny cobbled streets with people wearing national dress and were selling meat and vegetables. In the afternoon, we went to a beautiful park, where I met some amazing people. They were 2 men, who were 97 and 96 years old.

I was driven to Dali, about 3½ hours from Lijiang, winding through the mountains, was beautiful. I reached the destination, a wonderful old city that is complete contrast to Beijing. I spent the afternoon, exploring the city by myself. The next morning with my guide, we visited temples and top of one of the mountains, where you can walk at the top, looking over Lake Erhai.

After a long drive I arrived in Kunming, where I was flying to Yangshuo. This amazing landscape is unbelievable, rising up these stony mountains. I spent the following day, exploring the town and walking to the lake and viewing the river. In the afternoon, I took a boat trip down the river. When I say boat I mean raft, made from the local product, Bamboo. In the evening I went to a show, which lights up the mountains, with amazing coloured lights. In the morning I travelled to Guilin, where I picked up the train to travel Guangzhou, then to Hong Kong.

The train journey this time was no problem, all running to time. I got a transfer to the ferry, then across to Hong Kong. I have been to Hong Kong before, but was excited to be returning. I planned to go Victoria Peak, Stanley Market, and explore the area. As I was now running out of time, booked through the hotel a day tour, to take me to all of the places I wanted to visit. Before I knew it, it was time to go home, I was sad to leaving this trip of a life time.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0878s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb