Packing light


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
August 13th 2007
Published: August 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We still have several days to use for planning and packing. And packing wise apparently takes a lot of consideration. First, this is the longest trip I've ever taken, of course that's excluding the very-very long trip to the US. Second, at some point about 5 years ago I have decided not to take a backpack on a trip ever again. I can still remember the 2 week trip to Mexico with this heavy thing on my back. So I decided - never again.

And I've been true to the second statement for a while. I took my wheeled bag to many places even to those that are considered as backpack heaven. For example, in Bangkok I only had to carry the wheelie for about 10 min because the streets there are really unwheelable. Anyway, I thought I have graduated from the lagging the heavy stuff around for ever.

This time, however, I'm getting back to my old ways. We have a very extensive trip plans and I really don't know how this all is going to go. I just can not possibly take stuff for every day of the 3 weeks. In addition, I just don't want to worry about bags and other stuff. So, inspired by some interesting discussions, I am taking my backpack out from the storage and trying to pack light. And it's hard. It's hard especially because I'm taking my big and super heavy SLR camera. Of course, there is no way I leave the camera at home, so I'll have to wear the same clothes over and over (scary thought). Meanwhile, I still need to get rid of some 2-3 pounds of stuff form the bag.

Here are some links about light packing:

This one talks about how to pack and what kind of things are good for light travel: What to pack

This one, while very business-like, has some very interesting ideas about the topic: How to travel the World with 10 pounds or less




Katya


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb