China #4


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
July 5th 2007
Published: July 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi, again!

I wanted to add a special memory I have. It happened the evening of our final night's stay at the hotel and, no, Norm, it doesn't involve a man! In the information guide provided in my hotel there was a page listing all the things in the room and their price, if you wanted to buy something. Well, there was a simple, little, lacquered tray with the hotel's emblem on it that I wanted to buy as gifts for a five of people. Since it was already 10 pm and I suspected that there would not be anyone in Housekeeping who could speak English, I phoned the Assistant Manager. She wanted to ensure that we were talking about the same item so she came to my room to discuss my inquiry.

She introduced herself as "Helen." I explained my request and Helen phoned Housekeeping to forward my request. Unfortunately, Housepkeeping didn't have any more of the trays. I was disappointed.

Then I asked about this beautiful book that is in every room. It tells about Emei Mountain and all the features it holds (natural and man-made) but there is actually very little English included. Even the captions are not in English but the photography is outstanding. It cost $180 RMB (about $30 CAN). Without a moment's hesitation, Helen said, "The book is yours with my compliments." She wrote something in Chinese characters in the front of my book - when WenQing translated it for me later, it said, "I truly hope that you and your family willl reutrn to our hotel in the future. Be well.") Helen signed and dated the inscription.

I was very touched. I wanted to do something in return for her kindness, so I went to my bag where I still had several Canadian falag pins and keychains. I took out one of each and presented them to her. She was very pleased. We hugged.

I told her that I am emotional when I think about the fact that I am in China right now and of all the beautiful things that I have seen and the fabulous people I have met. We said our "good nights"!

That's what I wanted to share.

Bye for now.

ps: I really like getting the comments. It makes me feel that I'm not so far away from home. Love to all.

Advertisement



5th July 2007

Nice Story
Nice story, Linda. ~ Loren K., Orlando, FL
9th July 2007

very nice linda :)
9th July 2007

i confess - i was hoping for something a little more riveting. couldn't you and helen like set off a fire alarm or something :)
18th July 2007

Name, Please.
Please don't forget to "sign" your comments. I like to see who I'm "talking" to. Thanks.

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb