Yahoo-ing in Yangshou


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
June 17th 2005
Published: June 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Wandering the narrow streetsWandering the narrow streetsWandering the narrow streets

Upon arriving after our long boat ride, we strolled the narrow streets of Yangshuo to get our bearings.
Many travelers I have met highly recommend this small town but it has become a bit touristy in the last year. Luckily, we arrived mid week thus avoiding the large influx of Chinese tourists who descend upon the town for weekend fun. The town does offer great outdoor excursions and we were quick to take advantage with a long bike ride through the outlining villages and a hike into the dense forest. The weather has cooperated with some sunshine but we were caught in a monsoon during our hike...although it was fantastic to be slushing through muddy paths and traversing slippery rocks while trekking through small villages and rice patties. I can't help but be amazed at the simple yet hard life the people in these outlying villages lead. Their poor living conditions give me great pause yet everyone we meet is always smiling.

a quick story.....my claustrophobia got the best of me when I attempted the Water Cave excursion. The entrance to the cave is extremely low, so low that everyone on the small row-boat type craft has to basically lay on the floor so as not to lose our heads. just a few feet in, Jane, who also
Peaks of YangshuoPeaks of YangshuoPeaks of Yangshuo

While the streets are crowded with cars, bikes, scooters, people and the heat can quickly make me your shirt wet, the thousands of peaks (like this one) that surround the city create a peaceful backdrop which offsets the hectic streets.
suffers from claustrophia, lost it and began panicing. I cannot fault her as I too quickly felt uncomfortable as it looked as though the entire cave up ahead was only a few inches high (even though they promised us the cave is immense once you get inside). As the boat man continued to use his large bamboo stick to push the boat, I reached up and grabbed the roof of the cave and pulled the boat backwards until it was once again outside. the boatman was puzzled as to the boat's backwards motion until we explained the situation using out well-honed charade skills. Jane and I got off and let the others continue. As luck would have it, we were told the cave was not that impressive.

Yangshuo allowed us to catch up on some western food (especially breakfast) to help offset the mass quantities of rice, fish and vegatables I have been consuming. The town also offers a wide range of pubs to swap traveling tips, pictures and horror stories with other backpackers. The big thing is to swap email addresses so I continually find my self yelling "yahooooooo" when I give mine to people (ahhh, the power
weary boat people enjoy a beerweary boat people enjoy a beerweary boat people enjoy a beer

after the long boat ride and stroll around town, the gang enjoys a cold brew.
of marketing!).

Not many Americans to be found which is a good thing but makes 'sports talk' a bit difficult. Good thing I am a football fan (that is soccer for you folks back in the states) which always leads to quick cheers among the European travelers I meet.

When I was told that they are hiring native english speaking people to teach english to kids a a summer school in Yanshuo, I nearly took the position. It is a two week gig and pays 4000 RMB (plus free board and internet)....that is around $500 USD. I was leaning towards taking the gig but my fellow travelers told me that I would need those two weeks in SE asia.

I've enjoyed my three days here but I'm happy to be hitting the road again. I have an early morning bus slatted for tomorrow to the tiered rice patties of Longshen.

Hope everyone is good and enjoying life.

L-




Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

I meet up with my friends from GuilinI meet up with my friends from Guilin
I meet up with my friends from Guilin

Chi and Fei are on their honeymoon in Yangshuo. We met on the bus from the airport to Guilin city proper and promised to meet up in Yangshuo.
Dinner being preparedDinner being prepared
Dinner being prepared

Our street-chef prepares our Beer Fish, the delicacy of Yangshuo
Celebrating the HoneymoonCelebrating the Honeymoon
Celebrating the Honeymoon

Chi and Fei meet us later that evening at the Buffalo Bar to celebrate
Biking the backroadsBiking the backroads
Biking the backroads

On our bike ride, we came across the bamboo ferry. It is 1000 degrees with 1000% humidity as you can see from my shirt.
Waterbuffalo has the right ideaWaterbuffalo has the right idea
Waterbuffalo has the right idea

Given the heat, I thought about jumping in with the beast.
Traffic jam Yangshuo styleTraffic jam Yangshuo style
Traffic jam Yangshuo style

We had to wait untill our four-legged friends let us bike on through.
Right Guard momentRight Guard moment
Right Guard moment

The heat of the bike ride begins to get to me
Lush landscape of YangshuoLush landscape of Yangshuo
Lush landscape of Yangshuo

Another great view from our bike ride
Not good on a one lane roadNot good on a one lane road
Not good on a one lane road

Coming back from the water cave excursion, a truck gets stuck and creates a hughe traffic jam as the road is only wide enough for one car. We simply got out of our van, walked past the accident, got into another van and kept moving.
Finally the bad weather finds meFinally the bad weather finds me
Finally the bad weather finds me

Rain & floods hit central and south china along with the small streets of Yangshuo. So we eat, drink and watch.
A wonderous chinese mealA wonderous chinese meal
A wonderous chinese meal

With help from Cathy and her native Chinese language, we partake in a tasty dinner....we even found a bottle of Great Wall wine.
We begin our hike into the mountainsWe begin our hike into the mountains
We begin our hike into the mountains

After a short and very bumpy van ride, we set off on our 3-4 hour hike.
Holding on for dear lifeHolding on for dear life
Holding on for dear life

My rock climbing skills are tested as I hang thousands of millimeters from the ground
City in the distanceCity in the distance
City in the distance

If you look way in the distance between the mountains, you will see the destination of our hike!
local housinglocal housing
local housing

Along our hike we came across houses that are miles from nowhere
Rice farmerRice farmer
Rice farmer

He tends to his field only taking a quick moment to wave as we hike by.
Mountain PassMountain Pass
Mountain Pass

We treked over the mountains in the distance and down the path on the left of the photo
MonsoonMonsoon
Monsoon

While we hiked in the pouring rain, the locals we walked past sat under cover and played cards.
Wet and WildWet and Wild
Wet and Wild

My shirt, usually light brown, is dark from all the rain. Being the smart traveler I have become, i wore a bathing suit instead of shorts.


Tot: 0.505s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 29; qc: 157; dbt: 0.3488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb