Life so far...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Zhejiang
March 4th 2011
Published: March 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

HangzhouHangzhouHangzhou

The hotel I stayed in in Hangzhou
I've been reading a book my Mum gave me before I left; its by Peter Hessler and it's called They Yellow River: Two years on the River Yangtse. I started it back home and although interesting it was a little difficult to read. Now I understand why.

You're probably thinking 'that's a strange way to start a blog' but let me explain. The book is about Hessler's life as a teacher in China, he spent two years teaching at a college quite far from here, and although each province differs from others and each city is by no means the same. I think my experience so far echoes his.

It can be quite lonely here sometimes, having not been here long and there not being any other foreigners at the school it can be difficult. I'm not complaining though not at all! I think a lot of it is on my head, I hadn't made much of an effort to learn Mandarin before I left Britain and leaping straight in to the deep end was in retrospect absolutely insane. However Hessler describes these feelings in his novel; he says that although the Peace Corps gave gim fantastic language lessons
HangzhouHangzhouHangzhou

Me being a little arty with a photo from Hangzhou
and he could order food, say hello, buy things at the market his Chinese was by no means fluent. Reading chinese ifyou don't understand it is gobledeegook, like trying to translate webdings. Hessler depicts himself in this world surrounded by symbols, pictures, images he cannot understand, he becomes overwhelmed and isolated by it. Somedays can be like that.
Others, and this is most days in my book, are overwhelming in an amazing way. I've begun to feel at home, comfortable and I'm not sure I even hear the traffic anymore. Occasionally the 'mocking haa-lohs' of strangers and the staring pointing and the random shout of 'laowai,laowai' can become disconcerting and there is a sense of suffocation, like your lungs will collapse at anymoment and all you wish is to click your heels together and 'go home'.

Luckily this is just my penchant for over dramatics, and I actually am enjoying life in China. The people are friendly, generous and so welcoming. The work seems to come naturally and is enjoyable. The students are curious, shy and dilligent. My colleagues are fun loving and there is lots of laughter in the office. The weather is warming and the first signs
HangzhouHangzhouHangzhou

Trying to get the sheer amount of traffic!
of spring are blossoming their way through the local park.
It was my birthday yesterday and the students in my last class made a big fuss and sang Happy Birthday to me, bless(They also want me to sing an English song for them next week so I'm screwed they'll know how bad my singing voice is!) I got a traditional chinese teapot from a friend and this evening I am going for supper and a drink with a friend from the English Corner I went to last week. I'm also taking a trip to Hong Kong on Sunday to change my visa. Seriously looking forward to seeing Hong Kong and of course some English speaking natives! Woop woop!

Life is good!


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

HangzhouHangzhou
Hangzhou

Fireworks on the street corner
HangzhouHangzhou
Hangzhou

There's no smoke without fireworks
HangzhouHangzhou
Hangzhou

Probably nothing but Jay and I thought it was a good photo op!
HangzhouHangzhou
Hangzhou

The bar with 'you are my sunshine'
The bus journeyThe bus journey
The bus journey

Erm...more mountains!
HuzhouHuzhou
Huzhou

Something from the Song dynasty I think
HuzhouHuzhou
Huzhou

More stuff from the Song dynasty
HuzhouHuzhou
Huzhou

Water sculpture in the downtown area
HuzhouHuzhou
Huzhou

Lotus Manor Park
HuzhouHuzhou
Huzhou

Lotus Manor Park
HuzhouHuzhou
Huzhou

Lotus Manor Park
HuzhouHuzhou
Huzhou

Little blue boats in Lotus Manor Park
HuzhouHuzhou
Huzhou

The view from my window
HuzhouHuzhou
Huzhou

The view from my window


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb