Snow!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Zhejiang » Hangzhou » Tonglu
January 18th 2011
Published: January 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It is so cold. And I have a cold. Today I'm wearing two pairs of thermal leggings and am quite chuffed that I can still fit into my black skinny jeans over all of that. This is despite eating non stop since I got back (it's a survival mechanism - I'm making my own layer of blubber). Two pairs of socks, fleecelined boots, a thermal top, t shirt, jumper and cardigan. Outside, I'm just about okay (apart from cold toes and nose) but if I go somewhere with AC it gets pretty toasty.

It's snowing today. Very light but hasn't stopped all day. I've taken a couple of pictures out which I'll post when I get home. It is beautiful. Unfortunate though because we've been outside a primary school marketing for the last hour and a half. We were so bundled up I don't think anyone could tell we were foreign!

On Sunday night, Rachael, Amanda and I went to KTV. I really wasn't feeling well, but we've been planning a night out for a while, and were supposed to be celebrating my Strathclyde news so I dragged myself out of bed (I'd gone home for a post work power nap!) and actually quite enjoyed it. I didn't sing but enjoyed listening to the music and laughing at the music videos. I think I've worked some of them out at least. Where they don't have the copyright for the videos they show tourist videos (I swear I saw Anneka Rice in one) and dub some awful singer over it. i really don't understand the issues over copyright, because it doesn't seem to apply to anything else here.

Yesterday I decided to take it easy to try and shift the cold. I didn't go to the gym or leave the house, except for a meeting in the morning but that was at Tarik's house, which is about a 3minute walk away. In the afternoon I watched Running with Scissors, which was interesting, but not half as interesting as all the furore that surrounded it's release.

I think I am going to have to find another newspaper to read. The Guardian seems to be in love with Piers Morgan and seeing his ugly mug on my computer screen every day is really making me feel nauseous. I DID really enjoy Charlie Brooker's column this week though, and recommend it if you haven't already read it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.321s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.1021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb