Chinese lessons in the bath


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Zhejiang » Hangzhou » Tonglu
December 13th 2010
Published: December 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I'm not having formal Chinese lessons at the moment due to a combination of not being able to find the right teacher, and my general busy-ness. I'm using my Rosetta Stone fairly often, but the main conversation practise I get now appears to be in the bath.

I've been going for more of the herbal baths at the salon, and in fact they want me to go back every day between now and when I head home for Chrismas. I don't *think* it's just because I'm really dirty, rather the bath is a preparation for this vibrating treatment I'm now getting. It's an absolute luxury, and all in takes about 2.5 - 3 hours each time. Goodness knows who actually has time to dedicate that long to themselves everyday - I'm going to have to get up super early to get my work done.

So, the treatment starts with this bath that I've talked about before. It's a wooden tub that has a plastic lining so it's a little odd to sit in at first, but, given that I am buck nekkid a slippery seat is the least of my worries. The water is very, very warm and is basically tea so it smells lovely. The lady (my usual girl asked me for an English name so Rach and I call her Lucy) then washes me for about half an hour using the tea bag, which is maybe 4 inches square. I'm not self conscious at all now so can just relax and enjoy it. Anyway, it's during this bath time that I chat to Lucy (and anyone else who is there) and they don't speak any English so it's a great chance for me to practise. In the past couple of days we've talked about our families, plans for the holidays and what I think of Tonglu. Actually, it's a good job the bath is only half an hour, I don't think my Chinese is good enough for me to talk about much else!

After the bath, Lucy takes me through to the main treatment room and dries me. Actually dries me like I am a baby. It's odd, but, like I say, I'm used to it now. They give me these paper pants to wear and I sometimes get a wee head massage too at this point, which I adore. Today Rach and Amanda came for facials at the same time so we were all in together, which was lovely although we were all so blissed out we didn't chat much.

The vibrating treatment is weird. The use it on my stomach to aid my digestion, placing a big pad under my back and then rubbing the vibrating cushion over my stomach, which has been smeared with a jelly thing. It's not sore on my tummy, in fact it's quite relaxing, except when every now and again I feel my muscles pulling, a bit like a sit up. For my face, they don't use the pad. I am not sure exactly but I think she puts another pad (like the one that is under my back) under her feet, or bum because she then just uses her hands on me, but there is a really strong vibration running through her fingers. The face bit alone lasts just under an hour and is uncomfortable but not painful. Definitely not as sore as the big pokey needle so I'm happy to just grin and bear it!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.276s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb