Day 1


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Zhejiang » Hangzhou » Tonglu
May 30th 2010
Published: May 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I had a moment of panic at Glasgow airport this morning (or yesterday morning infact) with my visa and ticket details not matching up but the nice lady at KLM sorted me out so I got into China at least. Now need to figure out what to do so I can stay here, and so that the girls get over okay.

Anyway, I arrived here at 7.30am this morning, having left the UK 24 hours previously so was shattered. My stopover was in Amsterdam and because it was 7 hours I popped into the city. I do love Amsterdam and didn't do much apart from enjoy the sunshine and admire the buildings. The flight over to Hangzhou wasn't too bad, I had an empty seat beside me so could put my feet up, but couldn't sleep so by the time we landed my eyes were literally stinging with tiredness. I was supposed to go over my chinese lessons on the plane, but was too tired to concentrate so just watched Friends, 30 Rock and a really good film called Yes Man.

Amanda met me at the airport and thankfully, because Hangzhou is smaller than Shanghai presumably, there were fewer clearances to go through so it only took an hour to get from the plane to the cab, rather than the 2 I was expecting. Had a wee nap when I arrived this morning then went out for a bit of lunch. EVERYTHING savoury at the bakery had ham in it. I went for a 'vegetarian' cheese croissant type thing and it still had ham in the centre so I ate round it and made do with a smoothie. Ah well, I'm sure I won't starve!

I'm staying with Tarik and Benny until Rachael arrives, then we'll be moving into our own place (the current foreign teacher lives there at the moment). I seems really warm here today, though I am assured it's just kind of average. I showered before I left the house this afternoon and my hair was bone dry within ten minutes of being outside, so that makes it pretty warm in my book! I've bought factor 50 sun cream though as I can't go too brown (when it comes to teaching English over here the whiter the better!)

Tomorrow I'm going back into Hangzhou to get my medical, then the real work begins!

Please do keep in touch, lots of love, Zahra

Advertisement



30th May 2010

Cheerie!
Good blog lass, keep the updates coming!
30th May 2010

hi
Hi Zahra, glad to see that you arrived safe and sound. We were all thinking about you when we were in Skye at the weekend and wondering how the flight had went. I'll keep my fingers crossed that you meet some dishy Dr's when you get your medical tomorrow. Will be checking this daily so keep me updated on even the little things. Not long now til Rach comes out. Ems

Tot: 0.325s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1188s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb