Trekking the Tiger Leaping Gorge


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Tiger Leaping Gorge
July 14th 2008
Published: April 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I guess it was something that I ate, but I woke up and did NOT think I was going to be able to make it on the 27km trek...which was a major blow since it was basically one of the main reasons I chose this trip. My stomach was aching something awful and right up until the moment the bus left, I decided I wasn't going to go. Then, I convinced myself to pull it together and make it a go....after all, life only happens once. The first few hours of the hike were a difficult ascent, which made me extremely nauseous. Luckily all that working out paid off a little. We followed along the side oft the gorge which is known as one of the deepest in the world. Legend has it that it is so narrow, that a tiger once escaped by jumping over it while trying to escape. Uh, I don't think so!

Anyway, the scenery was pretty awesome....but then it started raining! We hiked the next two-three hours in the rain, including the part called the "28 bends" which is known to kick a little butt. Since I wasn't feeling well, I opted to take a
Looking Back2Looking Back2Looking Back2

Yangtze River
horse up that section. It was so slippery even the horse lost it's footing. It was a little stressful, to say the least...since you don't feel like relaxing or enjoying anything when it's pouring rain on you and there's a tremendous drop below you. And, as I mentioned, the trek was extremely slippery since the path became mud.

By the time we got to our guest house, we were soaking and very cold (in the mountains). It was a wonderful place, with heated blankets, thank goodness!!

The next day was full of treasures...gorgeous weather and scenery to match. I was feeling good by that time and very happy that I had gone ahead with the trek.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

TLG5TLG5
TLG5

Gorgeous scenery
CrossingCrossing
Crossing

This was really pretty dangerous..the fall below was steep..and the cross was slippery!
GroupGroup
Group

A relaxing meal at the end
ProbloemProbloem
Probloem

We all nearly had a break down because huge rocks were falling into the roads. We had to stop and wait nearly 10-15 LONG minutes, wondering if we were going to be smashed!


Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.093s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb