Back on the tourist trail


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Shangri-La
May 9th 2010
Published: May 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I am currently in shangri la, formerly known as zhongdian (both are still options in selecting my location). Finally got here after being stuck in daocheng for 3 days, but I took advantage of it and went to Yading national park, an expensive but totally spectacular day trip- the park is the site of three mountains that are holy in Tibetan buddhism, and from their physical appearance ( and one's physical state trying to hike at 4600 m) it's easy to see why they're considered special.

Now I'm back on the main tourist route, though I'm still going counter clockwise, which means I'm going to have to get to tiger leaping gorge, my probable next stop and hope that I find people there I can hike with. Then I'm not quite sure what I'm doing- I'm just about exacty halfway through my travels, but given that I need to reserve at least two weeks for shanghai, Xian, and Beijing, it's starting to feel like I
a bit short on time.

Next update after I've hiked the gorge, probably.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0821s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb