Shangri-la


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Shangri-La
September 2nd 2008
Published: September 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Bad Tibetan KidThe Bad Tibetan KidThe Bad Tibetan Kid

Because of this photo he importune me to give him money.
Shangri-la
Shangri-la actually means “Diqing Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture”.I have been there many times when I was very young,because my dad is a geologist and that region ia very rich in mineral resource.
Shangri-la has changed a lot, because of tourism,and the book “The Lost Horizon”. This summer I went to Shangri-la again,to my surprise this region has been well developed during the past years.When I was there many years ago, only a street named Changzhengdadao Rd. was can be seen.But now there are at least 20 branches were built and the bus station was rebuilt. Fortunately it’s not going to be a modern city,because everything was rebuilt as they used be.
After my dad finished his job in Deqing county,we paid a visit to the Songzanlin Lamasery of Shangri-la.I gotta tell people something about the ticket of Songzanlin.Some lama set up a roadblock in the middle of the road(but it just was just a rope).We did not know we need to buy ticket to enter this scenery spot,our SUV passed the block just like nothing was there.But we soon realized the roadblock we saw there are ticket window because we saw nobody sell the Ticket of Songzanlin
They met the kid as well.They met the kid as well.They met the kid as well.

My friend went there and face to the same problem just like I did.
Lamasery.However we did not buy ticket when we passed the roadblock again,because our SUV followed a motorcade.So each of us have saved 30yuan($6).

There is one more thing you need to pay attention is the small Tibetans who are in shining Ethnic clothing(They are just Tibetan Kids who try to CHEAT tourist by taking photo with they).Those kids will come to ask you for money if your captured him,so BECAREFUL WHEN YOU TAKE ANY PHOTOS. Most Tibetan people in Songzanlin are very verry friendly,the businessman, the Lamasery and some Tibetan family who lives in Songzanlin.
When I was there I paid 2yuan to take photo with a Zangao(a kind of dog in Tibetan and some other west region in China.)You guys can take a look at this photo the Tibetan kid come to my dog when I capture this photo.And he soon come to me to ask for money,he said I should paid for this phtoto,I will definitely not paid this .This boy even ruined my photo of this dog,how can I paid for him again?!But it turned out that this kid ruined my whole tour to Songzanlin.He fellowed me the whole day when I was there,and asked me
Making FacesMaking FacesMaking Faces

Making faces can also "Making Money"
to paid he the money.I am not going to tell you how did that kid importune me to pay him money,I hope anyone who have read this will pay some attention on those fancy dressed Tibetan kids,DO NOT let they in your photo so that your atmosphere will not be ruined.
One of my friend Lu has taken his girl friend to Songzanlin 2 days later and he face the same Tibetan boy just like I met.The boy making faces when Lu taken photo of his girl friend,and you know what happed,Lu refused to give any money to the boy.And he was importuned by that kid to pay money.Seemed like that he was much more angry than I am,because his girl friend get angry as well.
Actually speaking most Lamasery in Songzanling are so friendly to the tourists.Lu’s girl friend even carried a Tibetan girl in her arm,see both of they laughed happily!(Hey take a look at both the the small girl and the big gril!Haha! )
And the Lama are also very glad to take photo with Lu’s girl.
Anyway guys have fun in Shangri-la.And anyother Tibetan regions.






Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Little Tibetan GirlLittle Tibetan Girl
Little Tibetan Girl

She is really friendly.
Songzanlin LamaserySongzanlin Lamasery
Songzanlin Lamasery

I was on the moving bus so I can not focus well.


Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb