Sep 27-Oct 5th:Liming Climbing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Liming
October 18th 2018
Published: October 18th 2018
Edit Blog Post

September 27th:October 5th - Liming - Dia 98:106
Many days out climbing. Many new climbing friends. Amazing times and memories shared.
I went on climbing for 9 days straight. Usually you take breaks after a couple of days but I just felt I needed to take full advantage of all my days in Liming.
I started to really enjoy my daily routine. It went something like this. After an extremely good sleep I woke up at around 8am to head over to my usual breakfast restaurant. A nice simple breakfast costing only around 40 cents ?. I usually got 3 steamed buns filled with pork which I ate alongside a bowl of a really good red pepper oily sauce. Accompanying it I served myself green tea and kept on drinking while reading my kindle book. I was that lone westerner who stayed there for around an hour enjoying the tea and my book ?. What an incredible relaxing feeling. After I went back to my room to get my stuff ready for a day out climbing with Craig. Each day we visited a different place and tried different cracks.
The first two days in Liming we climbed alongside Mike and Ana since non of us had any traditionl gear to protect the cracks. For the first two days we hopped on the wagon of Mike's motorbike and he took us to his newly developed wall. Here I climbed fresh new bolted sandstone routes. All of them where really long, usually around 35 meters in vertical length. First time I climb sandstone and I love the different feeling you get from it. Since all of this routes were new a lot of cleaning has to be done. So
Sometimes as you climbed you had to chuckle loose big rocks to the ground. ? All of this is getting me excited to head back to Mexico and develop new climbing areas.
Mike was kind to lend us a lot of his cammelots, so for the third day and rest of my days in Liming we  started climbing some cracks around the different areas in Liming! Camellots for anyone who is not aware is the piece of gear you use to protect the cracks as you climb them. Every single day was incredible. The first two days trad climbing we got our asses kicked by a 5.11b in Sensored Wall. But as the days went by I found myself feeling comfortable with trad climbing again. We did an amazing multipitch one day which demonstrated why Liming got its fame. There was this horrendous off width crack which forced you to crawl and use all your body to move a few centimeters ?. Crack climbing is one of those sports which you might be cursing while doing it but as you finish the climb you can't comprehend how good the climb was jaja.
We kept climbing day after day, no rests. I only had a couple days in Liming so I couldn't afford rest days. My hands were bruised and scratched, some of my fingers had a weird numb feeling but I was happy ?.
As the days went by other climbers showed up and new friendships were made. We all met up late in the evening to share a huge meal and the day adventures together. Food was so cheap that we sometimes ordered two dishes per person. Finding ourselves seating down in a round table with  14-16 different tasty vegetarian dishes in front of us. AMAZING! ?
With that I end my experience in Liming and China as a whole. What an unforgettable series of memories... NEPAL HERE I COME!




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.037s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb