The Balance and the Twelve Balls


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Lijiang
November 9th 2005
Published: December 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

When I was passing one of the narrow alleys in Lijing, an old man beckoned to me to come nearer. When I sat down next to him he started wispering to me. He showed me twelve steel balls and a balance and gave me the following riddle: One of the twelve balls is different in weight than the others. How is it possible to find out which ball is different in weight and if it is heavier or lighter than the other eleven balls by using the balance only three times?
It took me a long time to find the solution, finally I found even two different ones. Maybe you want to try?


Additional photos below
Photos: 1, Displayed: 1


Advertisement

The Old ManThe Old Man
The Old Man

Since the old man was a bit shy and did not want to have a picture taken of him I drew him and his riddle from what I remember ;-)


Tot: 0.372s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 38; qc: 174; dbt: 0.2715s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb