Stone Forest


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Kunming
August 30th 2010
Published: September 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I only went to Kunming to get a train out of the area. I stayed for a few days anyway. When I first got to my hostel, after I had just sat down in the bar area, a cat came up to me and I showed it my empty hand to let it know I didn't have any food. That is when it turned carnivorous and took a bite of my thumb. I knew I should have gone with my first instinct and kicked it, but you have to be careful around other travelers, most seem the type to be in PETA. I went and walked around the city the first day and realized there wasn't much to see. Most of the places of interest are rather far from the city itself. I decided the next day to make my way to the stone forest. I was told it was about 2.5hrs away. Three bus changes and four hours later I get to the place and it is 175yuan to get in. I almost turned around. That is about $25, I didn't think anything in China cost that much money. The best part of the entire trip was seeing the scrum to get into the bus at the bus station. There was an old lady with a huge bag and an old man trying to push their way to be the first one on the bus. I could only guess what they were saying but I could imagine the lady was shouting "I'm an old lady I go first" and the man replying "I'm older and in China we don't care about gender unless it means that men are better" and with a final push he boarded the bus first. I really should have gotten my camera out, but I was too busy laughing at the situation. The entire line could have boarded the bus by the time their argument had finished.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb