Kunming, China (Yunnan Province)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Kunming
June 12th 2009
Published: June 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Kunming is more of a modern city than I expected. Riding in I saw the drab, industrial outskirts but there are very nice parts of the city. Unfortunately, I had to spend a couple hours per day trying to arrange flights for the end of this trip.


I did make it to the large Green Lake Park in the center of Kunming. I was there on a Saturday and it was packed with musicians, artists and families. It was really like stepping in to a different world; I didn't see another foreigner until I got back to the hostel that night. There were so many little music performances going on, I could hear several from one spot and had to gravitate to the one I wanted to hear at any given time. There was everything from a lone violinist to groups of old guys improvising to a ten piece (obviously profesional) band set up under a tree on the grass bank of the lake.


I also went to Yuantong Temple in Kunming. This is a 1200 year old Buddhist temple that was pretty impressive. I have seen so many Buddhist temples in the last six months, it was nice to see the Chinese take on it. China is interesting in the fact that, since I have been here, I have seen the most industrial, ugly, character-lacking places I have ever seen. But also the most beautiful, well manicured, stunning places paying full attention to aesthetics.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb