Around Kunming


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Kunming
October 29th 2008
Published: November 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I've spent the last two days exploring Kunming and it has been fun.

On the 28th, I went to the Yuantong Temple which is at the foot of Yauntong Hill in northern Kun ming. The temple was built more than , years ago and is the grandest and most important Buddhist temple in Yunnan province. I then went to the Flower and Bird Market which was interetsing - they had all manner of fish, reptiles, and birds for sale. I wasn't sure how many were meant to be pets and how many were for dinner! I went to the Yunnan Provincal Museum which was impressive then I then walked around The Golden Horse and Jade Rooster Square, the city center of Kuming. I picked Mo up from the airport and it was great to see her again. We dropped her stuff at the hotel and then went back to the city center to explore further and have dinner.

On the 29th, we went to the Bamboo Temple which is on Yu'an Mountain. There are over 500 statues of Buddhas at the temple. It was very peaceful there and they had a nice courtyard where people were talking and eating. We next went to the Western Hills where you can see panoramic vies of Kunming.

There's more detail to be added, but the internet is slooow and I wanted to get some photos up! More later...


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Me at the Bamboo TempleMe at the Bamboo Temple
Me at the Bamboo Temple

I'm sitting on the top stair on the left
Kunming from the Western HillsKunming from the Western Hills
Kunming from the Western Hills

This is the view from Dragon's Gate, the highest point in the Western Hills
Me in the Western Hills Me in the Western Hills
Me in the Western Hills

Mo and I took the rope chair to the Vistors Center then hiked up the Dragon's Gate and then all the way back down. Here's me along the trail.
Mo and Me at the Western Hills Mo and Me at the Western Hills
Mo and Me at the Western Hills

This is a photo of Mo and me in the mirror used to show the impressive work on the bridge below us.


Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb