The terrors of Chinese toilets! - Kunming to Hekou


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Kunming
March 26th 2007
Published: March 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

PandasPandasPandas

Just chilling with your mates!
As we've had quite a hectic couple of weeks (seriously, this travelling malarky really takes it out of you!) we've decided that we ought to take it a bit easier from now on! Kunming is a lovely city, and was the first time we'd seen blue skies since we left the Great Wall 2 weeks ago - there is just so much smog in this country! Not only blue skies but it has flowers and grass areas which is a real treat from the usual concrete etc. So we didn't do a whole lot in Kunming other than go to the Shilin Stone Forest which is a 3 hour train ride away (and only 50p!). As the name suggests, this is a forest of stone. It was quite impressive to start with but 2 hours on and you start to think that one bit of stone looks like another - still worth seeing though. The only other we did was to sit on the patio area that had a great view and drink beer.
After note: Having spoken to someone over a cheeky little beer, I found out that he only paid 2 Yuen for a beer in Beijing (approx 11p), and so feel completely ripped off having paid 33p. I don't know.... these locals that take advantage of tourists!
So from Kunming we opted for an 11 hour bus ride to the border town of Hekou (it was either that or a 17hour train journey). I'm not sure what I was expecting from the bus, a bit of air con and a toilet wouldn't have gone amiss though. Instead we were ushered into a minibus full of people. Luckily we got a seat after the conductor woman spoke to a Chinese couple and got them to move from their seats. Not sure why and did feel a little guilty, but not guilty enough to offer the seat back to them!
3 hours in and we stopped at the Chinese equivalent of a Welcome Break service station. However, as I say this is a Chinese service station and so was basic to say the least. It was basically a couple of huts selling noodles and a block of toilets. As most of you are aware, the thing I was dreading most about visiting China was the squat toilets. Now although I didn't want to go to the loo at this point I thought that if it was another 3 hours before we stopped I better at least try.
I could smell the toilets before I saw them and was not keen on what I was greeted by.......
Upon entering there was a pit in which people's 'dooings' were deposited. When I turned the corner there were about 10 woman all squatting down. Oh my god there was absolutley no privacy here. I thought the worst toilets I was going to see were at the Great Wall where it was an open area with a 2 foot wall between each 'stall'. No door - no flush -nothing. However, these toilets didn't even have that. You were quite literally open to the elements. Having stood in the door way for a couple of minutes, trying not to gag on the stench I thought I'd better go. So I found myself a 'hole' and assumed the position. However, nothing happened. I had stage fright- good and proper. It happens to us all at some point in our lives, it just so happens mine was stuck in a pig shed type hut surrounded by Chinese women, staring at white womans white ass! Tell you what, I left there as quick as I could!
It is a shame after passing through some absoluelty stunning scenery of pineapple and banana groves up into the mountains, seeing the locals going about their everyday life that the thing I remember the clearest is those bl**dy toilets!
The remainder of the trip wasn't so bad and reached Hekou after only 10hours which was a nice suprise. We checked into a 2* hotel, which came complete with a/c, living area and friendly Cockroach, that I named Colin. The following morning we crossed the border into Vietnam.
p.s. sorry to have spent the majority of this blog talking about toilets, but when you are as affected I was you just need to get it out of your system!! (no pun intended!)

Advertisement



29th March 2007

haha i can see where your coming from id get stage fright to lol xx
29th March 2007

A far cry from Ernest Jones
Hi Sam, I've been having a fantastic time reading about your adventures. Also a great thing is I know what to avoid and what to see when we start our adventure in china next year. Although all the great info you have supplied prices, places too see etc the most useful piece of info is knowing what the toilets will be like, Imean i'm glad i know this now as it will take me a year to get used to the idea of it. The crappy little staff room of Ernest Jones and the normal toilet sound more appealing that it did at christmas no doubt lol. Have fun in Vietnam and i cant wait to read the next part of your story. Hope the company is fun (hehe) take care David x
30th March 2007

Hilarious!
Your travel blog is keeping me very amused as i sit at my desk! I think you are amazingly brave to have even entered those "Toilets" and at least you had a go! China is most definitely next on my list after reading of your travels! Take care and keep having fun!
1st April 2007

Hi Sam, sounds like your having a great time, keep on posting your adventures, i will probably be out to china in a month or two but on business so will get to see what its like, x

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb