More Tigers - Yunnan again


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Dali
April 5th 2010
Published: April 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

With a few weeks of holiday at my disposal I decided to return to Yunnan, the destination of my first travel blog 3 1/2 years ago. Kunming, Dali, Lijiang and Tiger Leaping Gorge were once again on the agenda. The plan was to make the mountaineous route into Sichuan, but the route is closed because of the snow. To avoid boring myself I've summarised this in to one blog, with just a few highlights and thoughts:-

- Tiger Leaping Gorge is still gorgeous and remains the most beautiful and impressive place I've visited. Made all the nicer by not being overrun with Chinese Tour Groups (they take the bus along the lower road, missing the best bit). There are rumours the government are going to build a dam nearby and flood the area - a real shame if true. They're currently reconstructing the lower road at the moment and was told that you 'Enter at your own risk'.

- The Yunnan pace of life somehow resonates with my natural tendencies towards relaxation. A few foreigners have set up shop here, especially in Dali but, whilst this seems appealing, I'm sure it would be the kiss of death to any ambition.

- Being in China has given yet another opportunity to visit numerous toilets en route. My personal favourite was at the Tea Horse at Tiger Leaping Gorge which, Michael Palin style, offered marvellous views of the mountains.

- Lijiang being far impressive than I remembered. Previously, it had been lodged in my memory as fake old, full of loud Chinese tour groups and nothing special. This time, the night time lighting and fake old felt right. I even did a bit of shopping. My favourite moment was finding a guitarist/drifter who doubled as a BBQer. Perhaps BBQer is a little flattering since he played guitar and sang whilst the customers BBQed. However, his stories and general attitude to life as well as his ability to hold an audience struck a chord.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Smiling into the sunSmiling into the sun
Smiling into the sun

My entrance for stupidest photo expression
Man and goatMan and goat
Man and goat

Let's take a goat for a walk.


10th April 2010

oh...tim, Yunnan is such a beautiful place...i ve been there 3 year ago and was deeply attracted by the views there...the Yulong snow mountain, Dali and Square Market with lots of bars...oh, have you watched the show designed by Yang Liping, the great dancer and some national minorities? if not, i recommend you to watch that next time, and you will like it and you will understand more about what is the sounds of nature....By the way, just a little secret..Yunnan is the place that i totally fell in love with my sister, just imagine,,how pathetic am i ? haha ...hope everything's going well, mate..

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb