Day 4 "every cloud has a silver lining"


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Xinjiang
June 5th 2013
Published: June 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Goes like this

A 40.8-kilometer journey through rocky grasslands, gullies, past river streams and local villages.



After a chemically assisted good night's sleep, a packet of porridge, I was actually starting to feel quietly confident about the day.

Amazing how it all can change, is this the great 'mind over matter ingredient.'





Started stage 1 with a shuffle, yes was back into it.

I have Changed the days food plan slightly, still having the required calories.

Halved the perpet, and used more Hammer gels about 600 calories instead of the 1000 in the perpet I was using, no wonder I was getting ill.

A day in the high country pastures under the mountains, wow, very beautiful scenery, and a day to enjoy it, cool, sunny.

Coming down off the high country into the villages ,the streets lined with inquisitive oldies and kids, its fantastic.



Todays stage completed in 6 ¾ hours , making up few spots on yesterday , laying somewhere in the 70's ? , the big lift i needed after yesterday. 😊

So it's been a couple of hours back in camp, feet up, sipping on a recovery drink and eating nuts, horizontal, wonderful feeling.

Have got to face a freeze dried DINNER meal, its turning my tummy at the thought of it.

So thats the cock up. The food and sport medicines side of things , all the right amount of calories etc, but my god how boring it is, in fact I would rather not eat . which of course would be no good going into tomorrow's 85 kms. No point moaning , just get it on with it Bowen !!

There are a lot of people hobbling around , severe blistering is the big one, followed by all sorts of knee tears, there are people moving around out there, determined to carry on, every step agony, there's some courage or daftness here, or is it the combination of both.





For those of you thinking what happened to the "Hernia", where did that pain go? Must have ALL been in my head, OR perhaps giving me the excuse to go looking for that get out of jail free card.

Getting to Day 5 with No blisters , or other ailments, other than the internals not liking what I am doing to them! is this good luck or good management???

Yesterday buggered up my No1 old man category, I think I have only to have a reasonable day tomorrow, we will see.

Tomorrow is the big one, The Long March" 85 kms with a couple of enormous climbs as well, so with that thought I'm going to bed now, couple sleeping pills...wanna be



Bright and breezy in the morning !!

Advertisement



6th June 2013

Up above listening
Thank god you are OK. Have done lots of talking to the angels above! So glad you are back on track! Didn't I said "the food intake was wrong"! Keep strong and enjoy the moment - every one of them. Love The Cooks

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.043s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb