Tibet - Day 2


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Xining
April 10th 2011
Published: April 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Just another snow capped mountainJust another snow capped mountainJust another snow capped mountain

They got boring after the first few
I woke up gasping for breath in the middle of the night, as the train went through a pass at about 5,500 meters high. Why couldn’t I have gone to a beach I chanted to myself a few times before I slipped off my rails of consciousness.

Not much happened today… as most of it was spent on the train. We got out at the main train station in the afternoon, met our guide and headed for the hotel. Attempted to walk around, but the lack of oxygen was really getting to me and to my head. So I did what was most appropriate, and slept.

However, there were two things that caught my attention in between arriving and heading for bed, all the while fighting for the most basic of human privileges… breathing.

Firstly, witnessing the immediate indifferences (to be politically correct) between the ethnic locals and the dominant Chinese ethnic group the ‘han’. The ‘han’ took most of the official jobs such as guards and policemen, etc, but there’s not a lot I can comment on it…. But development is happening so I guess people are happy.

Secondly, and more amusing is CCTV’s news reporters on the English Channel. Don’t get me wrong the content is top class and on par with all other internationally acclaimed news broadcasting channels, but there is one reporter who shall remain nameless on the English news channel that cracks me up every time without fail. It’s his accent to be precise; factor in a lisp, a forced accent lost in between an English, Chinese, and American, talking about the most serious of topics, topped off with an ‘interesting’ hair cut.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb