On the Road Again


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tianjin
October 11th 2006
Published: October 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

National Day BanquetNational Day BanquetNational Day Banquet

We enjoyed celebrating National Day. The food was great even if I was a little overdressed.
After a one day delay, we have been on the road for a couple of weeks. I added so many pictures that it has taken me this long to put them on. We move into our apartment on Sunday, after 3 months in a hotel. YEA!!!

Our time actually started with a banquet celebrating China's National Day. It is like our 4th of July. Dave being the acting manager was invited by the mayor's office to a banquet celebrating the 57th anniversary of the founding of the People's Republic of China. We were two of about 6-8 westerners in a crowd of 500 (give or take). We were at a table where a couple of people spoke English. We were honored to have been included in the celebration.

The next day we took off for Shenzen which is on the border with Hong Kong territories. We got off the plane and onto the ferry. The bus to the ferry from the airport was packed. I feel bad that the driver prevented some people from getting on so that we could. I think they were wanting a ride in the general direction because another guy who helped us find the
Turbojet FerryTurbojet FerryTurbojet Ferry

Making our way from Shenzhen to Kowloon, HK
bus was also allowed on before these people. The ferry from Shenzhen to Kowloon(Hong Kong) takes about an hour. Dave was able to get his boat fix. I am still waiting to get my sailboat fix. We did a brainstorm about buying a small freighter and convert it to live aboard. What is scary is that we actually came up with a plan that almost makes it feasible. I'm keeping my eyes on the live aboard sailboat.

Since the first week of October is a national holiday, the offices were closed. Dave did some work out of the hotel room but managed to find some time to get out and see a bit of the city. We were there to apply for our residency visas and work permit. It gave us a few days to sightsee.

On Oct. 2nd we went to Lantau Island. It is the place where the world's largest Buddha statue is located. It sits on top of a tall hill and on clear days you are supposed to be able to see it from Hong Kong. On the way, we met a couple with a young daughter from Monterrey California. We kept running into
FireworksFireworksFireworks

National Day Fireworks in HK. Celebrating the return of HK to China as well as 57 year of the PRC.
them along the way. We talked for a while on the subway, parted ways at the bus to the Po Lin Monastery/Big Buddha. Then we met at the bus stop. Another girl, Alice, walked up and asked if we were looking for the bus to the Buddha. Together to 6 of us found the bus. At the monestary, Alice, Dave, and I walked the 230 steps up. It was quite a hike. I need to start working out again. The area was full of people and not nearly as relaxing. The Buddha is very impressive. There is a dichotomy of this area. We took the bus to the Buddha but we could have taken a cable car. At the cable car station at the top is tourist village akin to Gatlinburg. It is next to the monastery. Massive consumerism next to a place where people have taken a vow of poverty and meditation. We had lunch with Alice. As we were eating, guess who we saw again...The couple from California. (unfortunately I don't remember their names. I need to start writing names down). After lunch, we wandered around the temples for a while and then took a trail to walk
Nathan Road after the FireworksNathan Road after the FireworksNathan Road after the Fireworks

I think all of Hong Kong turned out for the fireworks. This is just the Kowloon side of Victoria Harbor. Probably there were the same number across on Hong Kong Island.
down the mountain. There are a number of trails around Lantau Island. It is a beautiful place to hike. We wish we had more time there. Along the path, we walked through a garden area that seemed to be part of another monastery. At the bottom of the path, we passed another monastery where they were singing. It was beautiful. The path was very green and lush. I am going to keep these pictures in front of me when the grayness of Tiajin gets to be too much. Enjoy the pictures.

I spent the next few days shopping. I had a big list of items that we have trouble finding in China. Dave did encourage a shopping spree. Unfortunately, I had trouble finding my size. I finally was able to talk Dave into having a suit made. We got lucky and found a good tailor. He also had 3 shirts made. It looks like it was made just for him! (ha ha). I did find a couple of things that did fit....beautiful diamond earrings and a ruby ring. Dave had to really twist my arm.

On Wednesday, we went to Cheung Chau island for the day. It is a fishing village trying to be a tourist spot. There were a lot of fishing boats which means a lot of great seafood. The beaches were not as crowded. The island is not very big and does not allow cars. There aren't any roads anyway. We enjoyed the afternoon swimming and just hanging out. We did not hike at all, however, it looked like a great place to hike. If you are looking for a quiet place away from hustle and bustle, this place is it. The only thing to do there is watch the boats, eat seafood, layout on the beach, drink, and eat seafood. A nice change from city life.

Dave needed to be in Suzhou this week. Since we thought we were going to be in Hong Kong until Oct. 12th, we had to change our tickets. Dave had hoped to take the ferry to Macau but we stopped by the Hong Kong airport first to see if we could change our tickets. Life makes us want to spend extended time in Hong Kong airport. AAAHHH! We went to three counters trying to get someone to help us. All said that they could not change our
Big BuddhaBig BuddhaBig Buddha

Lantau Island is near the HK airport. Being a week long holiday for China, all the tourists spots were crowded.
tickets and that we had to go back to Tianjin to have it done. I don't get it.

By the time we finished at the airport it was to late to go to Macau. We decided to check out another area of Lantau Island, since is it is next to the airport. We took the bus to Mui Wu (pronouced may wu). We of course continue to call in Muee Woo. It was the ferry terminal for Lantau Island and a jumping off point to a couple of other islands. We saw a couple of sailboats going out and hoped we could find the source. We walked around the beach but did not find a specific boat storage. We found a trail but decided to be lazy and chose to sit at the water's edge. I did briefly talk to one of the sailboat owners that came back in. I was not brave enough yet to ask for a ride. Next time. We met someone in TEDA that is moving to Shenzhen and has connections for sailing. We will be contacting them in the near future.

Sunday, we went to Mass, and then hopped the ferry to Shenzhen
Big BuddhaBig BuddhaBig Buddha

This is the largest bronze Buddha. It is actually pretty new. It was built in the late 1980's.
in hopes of changing our tickets to Suzhou. Of course we were told at the airline counter, that they could not change the ticket, but that we had to go the to agent to get a refund or change it. I don't quite get this, but again, this how things are done here. We were able to buy tickets on the next flight out for $100USD each. Even if we lose the ability to use the other tickets, this is not too bad of a compromise. We made it to Shanghai by 6pm and decided to go to Suzhou immediately. We managed to get a taxi for the two hour ride. Traffic was a bit heavy but not too bad.

The next morning I went to turn on my cell phone and found that I may have left it in the taxi. In a day when many things went well, it is expected that there might be a small glitch somewhere. I thought I was turning it off and putting it back in my bag. I must have missed the pocket. I have trouble with my technical items when I get to Suzhou. It means I will have to
Our companion for the dayOur companion for the dayOur companion for the day

We met Alice Louw from Capetown, South Africa while waiting for the bus to the Buddha. We ended up spending the day together.
take extra care when coming here. It has an effect on me somehow.

Monday, after sleeping in from such an exhausting travel day, I went to get a massage. I prefer Thai massage to Chinese massage. A Chinese massage uses a lot of chops and pounding. It is like they are trying to beat the stress out of you. Thai, uses similar methods but not quite so rough. Thai massage also uses deep stretching. I did feel less tight though.

Yesterday, I decided I need some garden time while Dave was at work. Before I made it to the Master of Nets, I had some little guy try to gain access to my purse. He was stupid in that he tried in an open area where there were not many people around. Had he tried in a crowd, I would never had known. I sensed that someone was behind me so I moved over to let him pass. When he did not pass, I turned to see where he was, which was right on my back. He jumped back, which of course made me realize what was happening. I noticed my bag open. I checked and everything was
Site of BuddhaSite of BuddhaSite of Buddha

This is the view of the Buddha from the next mountain over.
there. I fortunately have a good habit of placing my wallet in the bottom with things around it. I now am going to rethink how I pack my purse and how I carry it.

After that little incident, I started at the Master of the Nets garden. I bought a book about the teachings of Buddha just to get an idea of the religion. It is interesting. I hope to gain some understanding of the philosophy behind the temples. Reading the book in a Chinese garden makes it all the more interesting.

I also managed to find the entrance finally to the Surging Waves pavilion. I was walking along and noticed a cobblestone road next to a canal that I don't remember seeing before (because I always walk on the other side of the street). I first saw the building labelled Suzhou Art Museum. I found my way to the entrance and discovered the garden. It was built during the Song dynasty in the 12th century. I really enjoyed to peace of the garden. I thought I would be able to spend a couple of hours, but it was the day for the middle school kids. I did
Hike Hike Hike

Dave, Alice and I hiked down the mountain to Tung Chung. It took about 1.5 hours all down hill. It took a bit of energy but well worth it.
get about 30 minutes of quiet. Within minutes though the place was overrun with about fifty 11 to 13 year olds. One was very cute. She came up and asked where I was from. I told her the US and then asked her name. She shyly told me Jessica and ran off to be with her friends.

Today is silk day. I hope to check out a couple of other stores that sell Suzhou silk. I may go back to the Surging Waves pavilion and get some garden time before heading back to the grayness of TEDA.

We will be back in Tianjin TEDA tomorrow evening. Hopefully we will be in our apartment by Sunday and have all of our residency paperwork ready in about two weeks. We can then settle in to enjoy our time here. More later.




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

A well deserved snackA well deserved snack
A well deserved snack

After the hike we stopped for a glass of wine and a snack. Sorry for the blurriness.
Cheung ChauCheung Chau
Cheung Chau

The island is primarily a fishing village with great seafood.
Drying Fish in Cheung ChauDrying Fish in Cheung Chau
Drying Fish in Cheung Chau

Locals dry fish all over the village.
Cat NapCat Nap
Cat Nap

This place is really laid back. No cars are on this island. The only motor is on the bikes.
Seafood and BeerSeafood and Beer
Seafood and Beer

Cheung Chau is a great place for a beer and some great seafood. We learned to eat boiled shrimp with chopsticks. It requires not caring about Miss Manners.
SoHo HKSoHo HK
SoHo HK

I finally got my evening in South of Hollywood Rd.
Surging Waves PavilionSurging Waves Pavilion
Surging Waves Pavilion

I found a garden in Suzhou that I had not been to before. It was very peaceful until the middle school kids (about 50) showed up.
Suzhou Art MuseumSuzhou Art Museum
Suzhou Art Museum

There is an art museum at the Surging Waves Garden but limited to a handful of oil paintings from the 1940's to the 70's. A bit disappointing


14th October 2006

wow!!!
I feel like I'm traveling there with you. Even though some of the pics are blurry, it still gives one the gist of all the places. You ought to think about writing professionally when you return, cause your descriptions and comments are wonderful. Very detailed and fun!! So good to see your travels and very thankful you take the time to take pics and send them! All is well here and continuing as usual, though not as exciting as where you are. Thanks again for all the input, and continue them when you can. I lool forward to my next "adventure" in the life of the Zbazniks!!!!!!! Luv, Jeanne

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb