Pictures of Tianjin


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tianjin
August 14th 2006
Published: August 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Drum Tower StreetDrum Tower StreetDrum Tower Street

This is a shopping area for Chinese knick knacks.
Dave and I had a wonderful weekend in Tianjin. We took the light rail train from TEDA to Tianjin. It is about a 30 minute ride. A co-worker of Dave's and friend, Mario Garcia, loaned us his apartment for Saturday and Sunday. He went to Xian with his two sons. It was nice to be able to sit in on a couch for a change.

We really did not do much for our anniversary. We stayed in apartment for a few hours and watched movies. We did go to the Upper Deck which is advertised as an ex-pat hangout. Sunday's are their big day so there were not many people there. That's okay. Dave got a chance to see it and meet "Louise" who I guess is a manager of sorts for the restaurant.

Sunday morning we go up and went to church. The Scripture readings were in Chinese and English but the Mass itself was in Chinese. I liked it very much. The lady from South Africa that I had met earlier in the week was there with her family and I got an opportunity to introduce Dave to her. We then spent a few hours walking down
Tianjin specialtyTianjin specialtyTianjin specialty

They boil the water in a large bronze teapot with dragon head. Then they mix lotus root powder to make a thick concoction.
the golden street of Tianjin which essentially is a series of shops and malls. I seem to look only. I think I might be gunshy from my tower of Babel incident. I have tried on some clothes, but I am too big for even China's extra large. Now I know that I could stand to lose another 10 pounds or so, but I thought I was doing okay to keep my weight at where it is right now. It's depressing when most of people around you probably wear a size 2 and all the clothes seem to be geared toward this. What an incentive to lose a little more weight.

I am recovering from my cold and starting to get a bit more energy to feel like doing something. Tomorrow, I am meeting a friend of my guide who is supposed to teach me some survival Chinese. The standard, I "need, want to buy, want to return..." Where is....the laundry, bathroom, etc." and Please take me to this location. What is interesting is that when you say hello in Chinese "Ni Hao" the people automattically think you can speak their language! Funny how someone can give the appearance of
Tianjin specialtyTianjin specialtyTianjin specialty

They also add sugar, raisens, peanuts, and candied orange peels. It tastes kind of like oatmeal. I wish I could remember what it is called.
being "impressed" with one word. I don't want to appear naive as to think that people are really impressed with one word.

I really do want to learn to speak some Chinese. I don't think that I could ever by fluent by any stretch of the imagination... however...it is polite and the fair thing to do. gotta go study now!




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Stella ZhangStella Zhang
Stella Zhang

My guide for the week.
Haihe river in TEDAHaihe river in TEDA
Haihe river in TEDA

There is a water front boardwalk in TEDA.
Ancient Culture StreetAncient Culture Street
Ancient Culture Street

It is located where an ancient market used to exist. Today they sell all kinds of items.


Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb