Tidbits


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tianjin
May 23rd 2010
Published: May 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I got my haircut last week. My hairstylist was your typical urban Chinese boy. He was hip, and urban cool. He wore dark wash jeans and a chain wallet. He had a big leather collar on his wrist. He also had a hat on that said, "Fuck In A Box". I didn't mean to drop a F-bomb on you all. But I can only be honest in recording my experience. Forgive me.

I asked my Chinese partner to ask the hairstylist if he knew what it meant. She giggled and said that everyone here watched American TV, so he probably did. She never asked.

It's been about 4 days. I still have the strong desire to walk back to that shop and tell him to never, ever, ever, ever wear that in the USA if he visits. EVER. Except:
1. The shop is quite busy.
2. The owner serenaded me while shampooing my hair. I'm not sure I can handle it more than once.
3. I have no clue how to explain that in Chinese.
4. They will probably think I'm crazy.

So instead, I blog about it.

Our favorite new game is "spot the foreigner and punch each other in the arm while shouting the nam of the race".

Like the Volkswagen commercial. But with Muslims, Caucasians, and Black people. And lots of giggling. And bruises. We have two black girls with us, and I can't explain the level of excitement they have when they first saw another Black girl on campus.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb