What a start to the week!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tianjin » TEDA
February 17th 2014
Published: February 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I think it is going to be one of those days or even weeks! Here are a couple of things that I would not have thought of it hadn't happened today!!!

I thought I would adventure out today after the school run without my driver as I know he is quite busy so I got him to drop me off at a shopping Mall that I knew quite well to buy the only best bread we can find in Teda then I would get a taxi to a supermarket Tesco (same as UK) which I probably could walk but the roads are soooooo busy early in the morning, safer to get taxi. Then from Tesco it is about a 10-15min walk back to apartment. Easy..............

NO NO NO..........That would be easy! My driver dropped me and William off, we waved good bye and I said again I will be fine! Shopping Mall with lovely bread....Closed. Note to self, check opening times as some place don't open till 11am! So I walked round the whole building to make sure not open. As I was sorting out card with Tesco name and address on for taxi driver this lady came over to me shouting and pointing and arms waving......looking all around I was the only one there. She was shouting that Williams hands were cold and that his trousers where not long enough - all this was said by pointing and pulling at Williams clothes. Then she started on me and my legs!!! I did try to show that William likes to pull his socks down and really doesn't like wearing gloves but this made her shout even more!!! She then showed me she was wearing 4 pairs of socks and 2 pairs of gloves!! I waved good bye before she got even more heated and she started to follow me!!!! I never knew I could walk so fast!!

Next.....Taxi to Tesco. At 8.30 in the morning, taxi's are busy so I found the hotel we were staying in and asked them to help me. They were all happy to see William again and said taxi in 2 mins. Great, that was easy. They asked where I was going, I said Tesco and showed them my card with name and address on. The lady told the taxi driver for me. Brilliant. Off I go. I was just sorting my money out to pay driver as we were near Tesco. I looked down for a min at the most, when I looked up we were heading on the bridge towards the next town!!!!!! I could see Teda leaving behind me!!

I ended up at a Tesco in the next town!! It was a really busy area that I was in but I thought I may as well try this Tesco then find my way back home. Glad I did, I found HP Brown sauce for Andy and some Tomato soup. (doesn't sound exciting but it is for us!!) I found a taxi straight away once I finished shopping, I showed the man my address to get me home. A long of pointing and Chinese words he got onto his phone while driving to ask other drivers where I want to go! After a little trip around the town we headed back over the bridge with lots of laughing from the driver!!

I got there in the end!! I must remember not to look down when in a taxi, eyes straight ahead at all times!!!

Advertisement



17th February 2014

WOW!!
OMG it sounds like you are having everything thrown at you all at once lol. I hope you are all still enjoying yourselves though. And brown sauce, I bet you're the best wife in the world lol. Lets hope it all settles down warms up soon for you :-) xxx
17th February 2014

It does feel a lot like that!! Today was just a whole new experience though and I am amazed I found my way back home!! We are enjoying most of it (hated the medical!!) and yes, think gold star for me for finding the sauce, I am a good wife!!! xxx

Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0925s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb