Shehong, Sichuan, China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan
March 17th 2012
Published: March 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Long time no see since last entry. However busy life has gotten in the last month, i am merely enjoying an everyday life, exciting none the less.

I was picked up in Chengdu airport about a month ago by two sketchy looking strangers who took me and Jack (my roommate to be at the time) to their car and started driving. A friendly looking man with a strange sense of fashion in jackets engaged in casual conversation with us, His name is Chang gui ("Chaang guei"). I Pass by a massive looking bridge under construction and stop by a red statue of two men carrying a huge rock in the main square of town. Chang gui welcomes us to Shehong, Sichuan, China. A tiny litte place of only a million people and one considerably sized apartment for me and Jack. A kitchen with a constant gasleak, an evil washing machine that runs its own life, Liquid nitrogen or molten lava coming out of the Dwarfhight shower and China barging in through every blue window there. A perfect scenario, i would ask for nothing more or less.

Even before my arrival I have allready achieved rockstar status, and from the first day on, life seems to be nothing more than signing autographs and taking pictures with the local female habitants, regardless of age or appearence.
Most of my daily life however, is spent in the classroom teaching my subject and inspirering my 1000 (yes one thousend) students in between reprementing them and promting for silence while i speak. These cute little minors are most enjoyable and I do have a select "few" as a personal fanclub it seems, however im am told that evryone allready enjoy my presence and work. As flattering and lovely as that may sound, I am but a teacher. I go to work from 9 to 18, i eat at the cafeteria, i do my laundry, clean the apartment, prepare lessons plans. A normal working week.

Due to unfortunate circumstances, related to my roommate Jacks family, I now have a new roommate named Toby. Toby is nice and friendly chum from Germany who speaks chinese well and likes to enjoy a beer here and there. All in all we get along very well.

I have befriended a few of the other english teachers here plus a few local chinese citizens, they are very helpfull, friendly, interested and openminded. I have great Guangxi allready.

Im off to go eat dinner in the street with Alice, Phenix, Toby and few others whose names im struggling to remember, being chinese and all.

Lets take it from here.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb