Getting to like Chengdu


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan
January 21st 2010
Published: January 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

I guess you're wondering where this bitch's diisapeared throughout the last week.
Well, no point of me writing twoce a week or more, because who has the time to read, I guess, but no, I haven't turned all thoughtful all of a sudden. :P

The truth is, I had a busy week. I started to like this place and I've met other people, which always squeezes blog and alone-matters aside. When I wrote - I wrote e-mails to very few people that required my attention, and done with that - I wasn't energized or inspired enough to write here.

Last time I have mentioned my bitter start with this Chengdu city thing. The stupid bus&train schedule, the late arrival in the city, the hotels which turned me down (in Chinese!), the horror... Oh, the horror of 15 kg on my back, belly and arms for two hours... By the way, on the next day, just wandering around the city, asking for room-prices, I have found out from the ONLY receptionist that could say like 10 words in English that apearantly - not all hotels here have license to host foreigners. Apearantly you need one. Weird. However, that means that those mean receptionist who have turned down a polite, tired, back-aching Israeli lady were not all mean, rude and stupid, possibly.

Actually, once I got to the Loft hotel everything changed: I have English speaking hotel staff and actually - the best i've ever experienced. You can ask them EVERYTHING and they'll know the answer or refer you to someone who does. I got a new big map which makes the city easy to nevigate, just like Ho Chi Minh... And, the lovely lady who's the manager here has set me up with a nice French-American traveling partner.

Actually, the day I have arrived in the Loft hostel I went to the people's park and the Tienfu square, following the advice of the kind receptionist guy, and I just wanted to go see the Pandas the next day and leave to Beijing, but Joyce has adviced me to go there one day later because it's too cloudy and the Pandas might have less activities for me to watch. So, I asked, is there anything for me to do tomorrow, and she answered me that there's a nice town called Qiong Lai old town, and since the weekend's starting, it'll be nice to see how the local people spend their weekend. This town's not touristic at all so it's all authentic, and actually, there's a nice French guy who wants to go there tomorrow. If you want I'll tell him you're gonna meat him here tomorrow morning at 8:30.

To be continued, since I'm supposed to "Please share computers with others" and there's a man here breathing really loud when he looks at me, so...

Advertisement



21st January 2010

שיזהר לו
שייזהר זה שנושף בכבדות מעל עורפך, או שיהיה לו עסק איתי. ספרי לו איך הפחדתי מי שהתנכל לילדיי. היי היום שבו טיילת הפארק היה היום שבו דיברנו הטלפון. אישון חוזר הביתה ב2/3. בואי כבר גם את..
26th January 2010

Well, you should have seen my stalker then...
Two days ago. Somebody very weird followed me when I was looking for my hotel. But that's a different subject for a new post, I think...

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0892s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb